Kiss The Rain, a Commissioned Painting

in #art5 years ago

IMG_20190118_200522.jpg

Inspired by a renowned musician, Yiruma's Kiss the Rain and River Flows in You, a client ask me to paint a scenic and mysterious themed artwork. It was done on a canvas using acrylic paint.

Let me tell you how I started the painting.
It was commissioned to me about more than 2 years ago, and I thought the client forgot about it. So I did not get the chance to finish the said painting and left untouched. Until he dropped a message on my inbox to get the painting. The said painting was left untouched since then, I visited it again and thought that it needs a retouch.

Lee Ru-ma (Korean: 이루마; born February 15, 1978), better known by his stage name Yiruma (Korean: 이루마), is a South Korean-British pianist and composer. Yiruma frequently performs throughout Asia, Europe and North America. His alma mater, King's College, London, helped him gain European popularity and recognition. Among his most popular pieces are "River Flows in You", "Love Hurts", "Kiss the Rain", and "May Be". Yiruma's most popular album, First Love, was released in 2001.
He began playing the piano at the age of five and moved to London when he was 10, in 1988, to study at the Purcell School of Music. He held dual citizenship, South Korean and British, until 2006, when he gave up his British citizenship to serve in the South Korean Navy.



The painting must show a girl and a boy on a boat on a magical-liked river under the rain. The guy must looked like giving assurance and comfort for the girl. And the girl must looked like calm, and enjoying the rain.

Here are the photos of the untouched painting:

Exhibit AExhibit B
IMG_0421.JPGIMG_0401.JPG

The Retouch

I thought that I cannot convey the message my client would want to see, so I change and repaint most part of the painting. I wanted the viewer to see more water and I wanted him/her to feel the rain.

IMG_20190117_211434.jpgIMG_20190117_215814.jpg
A more magical approach would appear if I change the color of the sky into purple.I also changed the color of the tree into more purple-ish color. I can't imagine any other color , but this has to be finished.
IMG_20190117_215817.jpgIMG_20190117_224013.jpg
Painting in details is the most challenging part for me. I started with an outline of a couple on a boat. What challenged me more is drawing in accordance to the scene's perspectiveAnd here comes the painting process. I used light colors to act as the base for their clothes.
IMG_20190117_232837.jpgIMG_20190117_224013.jpg And this is the outcome. I had to paint the details of their face. The surface is so small so I had to use a very fine brush.
IMG_20190118_194727.jpgIMG_20190118_195833.jpg MORE DETAILS for the rain and trees. Now this is my favorite part for I see what I need to improve and add. I used a crumpled paper to dab a mixture of white and purple to the leaves part of the tree. And a fine brush to paint the rain on the painting
IMG_20190118_195835.jpg Here are some of the details. I hope that I conveyed the message now more than before. I felt that it might be not enough for the painting to look magical. And if that's the case I need to do more retouch. YAY more paints.IMG_20190118_200128.jpg

And this is me. !

Suggestions and constructive criticisms are very much welcome.
IMG_20190118_200348.jpg

IMG_20190118_200336.jpg

IMG_20190118_200522.jpg

Thank you for dropping by!

Have a nice day everyone.

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Oh helllooooo there. I thought i read a glitch. You got me there

I think the idea of a river and of rain come through quite well, @aalagenesis. I'm not sure how to convey kissing the rain, but I imagine that phrase is a symbol or metaphor anyway.

I think this turned out great, and I sure hope the client likes it. If not, though, as you said, more painting for you! It's great that you love what you do. It certainly helps when trying to come up with the right concept and then getting what's in your mind onto the canvas.

I'm glad that the client contacted you and that you were able to finish it. It's so beautiful! I like the contrast between the water, trees and the sky. It looks so romantic and peaceful. And the way you captured the rain is very very nice.

Thank you for sharing!

When I scrolled first before reading the text, I thought they were on a date and she does not like him. She is in her head trying to ignore him and he is trying to win her over.

Beautiful colors and I really love the foliage on the trees. This was the detail that caught my eye when scrolling. I 'm glad you mentioned how you did it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Whoa thank you so much

Absolutely deserved!!

Fabulous. Purple is my favourite colour and I love the rain!
Your footer graphic is awesome. Can I ask if you designed it and how?
Can I also ask why you don't sell your art, or the @creativestreet magnets and notebooks etc Steem? you could setup a little shop!
Best wishes :-)

Whoa, what a coincidence :) I think t
A purple environment and rain fit best together to make a magical scene, that's why i used that color.

And my footer, yes I designed it. I wanted to utilize Steemit's feature so I made a transparent image with white stars so we could see it in night mode. I made it on photoshop. I can make you one if you like.


We just started @creativestreet merchandise last Saturday. We are thinking to join in some art markets here in Manila and nearby events. And thank you for suggesting a shop :) i hope we could make more.
I wonder how could i sell those with steem

Sorry I am slow to reply @aalagenesis ! You actually answered my next question before I asked it! I saw your logo firstly on night mode as I usually prefer Steemit in night mode, but then when I looked on Partiko, it changed and I couldn't work it out!! That is such a clever idea though, making it transparent. It looks stunning.
Finally, thanks for the kind offer, my suggestion is you should make a tutorial post. I've seen other similar posts and they have made massive rewards!!
People like you ought to be getting the big rewards as Steemit is tailor-made for your talents.
Maraming-maraming salamat po too you, Ingatzzz and my best wishes for a great weekend :-)
PS Stop hiding behind your art lol ;-)

What's wrong with "a date in the rain"😁😁

Hehehe i think that's romantic

Great decision to redo it. The finished piece is so much better than the original. Great work!

Thank you so much

Hi aalagenesis,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing piece of art. They love up in the stream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30