Redpossum's Big Buenos Aires Apartment Search Adventure - Day Four

in #argentina6 years ago

PBBAASA_IV.jpg

Day Four


I had originally intended this to be a daily chronicle, but I have found that the Resource Credits provided to me by Steemit are not quite adequate. Gift horses and all that, I'm not complaining.

Yesterday I accomplished precisely jack squat in my search for an apartment. I had an appointment with my chiropractor for my usual monthly adjustment, and she hurt me. Not that I'm complaining, it was necessary. But my chiropractor is another story, for another day. I must resist the temptation to digress.

Mechanics


Today is Saturday, the biggest and busiest day of the week for those in need of housing. It's 10:30, which would be late by US standards, but Buenos Aires tends to sleep in a bit later on the weekends.

Since I'm bottom-fishing, at least by the standards of what's available for foreigners, I'm focusing my efforts today mostly on the classified ads in Clarin, or rather its online version. The printed ads in the actual physical newspaper are organised by some arcane system which is entirely opaque to me, and of course are not searchable. The opening page of the Clarin Classifieds is here -
https://clasificados.clarin.com/inicio/index#!/1/listado/nivel-estructura/Inmuebles

The word inmuebles means property or real-estate, and inmobilaria means the real estate business. Just to keep things confusing, muebles means furniture, and amoblado is furnished. Yeah, plenty of room for misunderstanding.

(this is the drawback to teaching EFL. One sees the connections between words, and cannot resist the urge to explain everything!)

Let's DO This


OK, on the left, the first section is Características or Characteristics. I click Departamentos y Casas or Apartments and Houses, then on the next screen Departamentos. Now a bunch of new categories appear. Near the bottom, under Operación, I choose Alquiler Ofrecido meaning Rentals Offered. Now I can choose the neighbourhood in which I want to search, and the number of Ambientes, (see Day Two for explanation).

The Wrap


And that's how it works. Now I need to actually get it done. Wish me luck, and we'll talk about my results tomorrow, presuming I actually have any, because the awful truth is that I'm finding this all incredibly difficult. For some reason I am encountering enormous internal resistance, and the combination of this resistance with the fact that I really absolutely need to do it is putting me under some truly hellacious pressure. Nietzsche was right about the importance of The Will.

Sort:  

Congratulations @redpossum! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @redpossum! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73