Emoji-Architecture... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

in #architecture7 years ago (edited)

image-thumb.jpg

Emoji-Ornamentation?

Throughout history, architectural symbology has taken on a breadth of emotion and time-oriented significance... but I think that this is the first smiley face I've ever seen on a facade.

block.png

"In classical architecture they used heads of the king or whatever, and they put that on the façade. So we were thinking, what can we use as an ornament so when you look at this building in 10 or 20 years you can say ‘hey this is from that year!’. The cast concrete characters express a range of familiar emoji emotions, including the classic sad and happy styles, the instantly-recognizable kissing face, and the much-loved heart eyes personality." - Design statement from Attika Architeckten

block.png

In the Netherlands - the design firm "Attika Architekten" has designed a series of residential / office / commercial buildings that feature some very familiar faces. Across the facade, there are 22 emoticons in white cast-concrete. The grid of emojis are organized is a grid pattern identifying the foot and head of the rectilinear building structure. Their design is meant to be truly contemporary, embracing icons of pop culture to the fullest.

Attika-Amersfoort-Vathorst-fase2-(9)_0.jpg

Attika-Amersfoort-Vathorst-fase2-(16).jpg

Attika-Amersfoort-Vathorst-fase2-(14).jpg

Fellow Steemians,

I have not fully grasped the wide reaching implications of emojis being cast into stone. So, what do you think? Are these smileys destined to be building blocks for 21st century architecture? Is this a fad, or really a new norm?

thinking-face.png

block.png

follow me @voronoi | design collective @hitheryon

Sort:  

I can't say I am a fan, but it could become a trend.

Likewise, I wouldn't stick those guys on a building... but it definitely sets a precedent.

👍😎✌ thumbs up cool peace

I love it! Thanks!

That is fuñny. I don't know if it's a design classic though.

Agreed 😂 this could be a one-timer... but I must admit, it is fun to look at!

What's my address? I live between happy and surprised. :)

Hahah. Amazing. What if you could swap apartments based on your mood? They could really take this emoji-architecture to a new level...!

Fantastic!!! I just saw the new episode of Doctor Who about emoji :D

I haven't seen that one yet! Sounds kind of terrifying, but I'll definitely check it out :)

Believe me, it's an interesting episode! ;)

Is this for real? wow, never thought I'd see the day

makes me a little afraid of tomorrow

I don't know if Emoticons on Buildings will be the new norm, But for sure I find it funny as hell that we have a building in our little country called The Netherlands that has emoticons as part of a building.

But yeh, maybe emoticons become more main stream and part of our heritage. Some time ago I wrote a post bringing the true story of our friends in Finland who created some new word + emoticons for it. Somehow backed by their government. https://steemit.com/funny/@edje/kalsarikaennit-one-word-to-say-getting-drunk-alone-in-my-underwear-at-home

Emoji heritage could be a very interesting new normal... the Museum of Modern Art in NYC recently purchased the rights to the original set of emoji icons, here - https://www.moma.org/calendar/exhibitions/3639?locale=en

You maybe right :) WOW, MOMO!

Stickers will be the next things then; But there are so many around. LINE the messaging App became rich over Stickers, started in Japan, obviously (like the Emoticons).

I have a feeling this building will not age well.

I wish you happiness
In every sphere of life.
Positively, creatively
To think without fail.
Happiness will be your let
Bright and vast,
Lights up your life
The sun is gentle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52