Strange Building - Ontario College of Art and Design

in #architecture7 years ago

OCAD is built like a shoe box on stilts standing over a building that could not be removed.

It's a popular, expensive school and many students that graduate here will go on to work some low paying job unrelated to their education.

But hey, it's a pretty cool building to study in especially an arts type program. To be honest don't know what most students go on to do but the few I do know are not in the fashion industry they studied so hard to do.

It would suck if they needed to evacuate quickly seeing as there seems to be one set of stairs, probably an escalator. They might have a freight elevator for moving large objects but would most likely be shut off in such an event. I've not been inside I don't know.

When you are an artist and surrounded by art and like minded people who cares anyways; Life is Good.

Sort:  

"It's a popular, expensive school and many students that graduate here will go on to work some low paying job unrelated to their education."

Too funny, too sad!

My wife and I both took courses there in the 80's!

Re he he he heally.
I would never have guessed that about you and if it was in a post I missed that one.

I had a gf in early 2000s taking fashion design and marketing. I think her folks are still supporting her.

Which program did you guys do? Is that where you met?

We didn't meet there but we both took courses there while dating.

I had finished a practical 3 year course at Humber College in Industrial Design and after graduating I took 1 semester there in color and graphics. I had and excellent teacher and it was great.

@lellabird60 was studying to be a piano technician at George Brown and went to night school there to study stringed instrument making.

We both got jobs and worked in our respective fields for many years but the winds of change have blown, we're on a different continent and doing different things.

before marriage or after marriage hahahhaha :D your wife and u :D

Schools use to be there to teach and pass on knowledge, now they just collect money and them on signatures buildings just to make a statement. Whilst increasing school fees and adminstration cost goes way up.

that is too true in many cases. Sometimes the smaller schools offer better lessons and atmosphere as they are less focused beautifying and trying to give students a better chance in the future.

Nice to see but practicality may not be there.

Many things are built to the glory of the architect with far too little thought on end use.

So interesting.

You've exceeded my expectations.

I'm impressed!

This is sensational.

You nailed it!

I remember taking the ttc past there all the time!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75