Religious Places as Public Spaces of Interaction | Marundeeswar Kovil, Chennai

in #architecture6 years ago (edited)

36085458_991415024365113_6597614772236058624_n.jpg

Thiruvanmiyur is the neighbourhood in South Chennai where I currently live. I was born in the area and know all of its streets inside out. Tucked away in its corners are many old temples. The Marundeeswar temple is probably the neighbourhood's oldest structure. Evidence of its existence dates back to the Chola period during the 11th century. I pass by the temple on a daily basis. In my 26 years of life, I had not once stepped into it. Until a couple of weeks ago.

1 Marundeeswar entrance .jpg

East Entrance from Thiruvanmiyur neighbourhood

The temple sits at the beginning of the well-known road, ECR, to Pondicherry. It is a Shiva temple that is a popular place for worship for people with ailments. Fables of the temple's power to cure diseases are also inscribed in other temples around the state. However, the temple is not a tourist spot. It gets its share of visitors from around the city but the majority of the people are the locals of the neighbourhood. Like my parents.

My parents are ardent devotees and visit the temple on a daily basis. 2 years after they started their tradition of going to walk in the temple grounds, I was curious to know where they disappeared to every evening. So I accompanied them.

I've seen my fair share of temples and they usually tire me out. But the Marundeeswar temple had me at my first step.

2. Marundeeswar Temple tank.jpg

Local children hang out at the temple tank

First, there is an undeniable sense of calm as soon as you enter the temple. The temple tank in front is a place for the young and the old gathering around it for a quick chat.

3.Marundeeswar Entrance.jpg

From the tank into the temple

Legend has it that sage Valmiki who wrote the Ramayana was blessed at this temple, giving the neighbourhood its original name - Thiruvalmikiur. Over time, this changed to Thiruvanmiyur. In his honour, a certain part of the neighbourhood is still called Valmiki Nagar.

4. Man relaxing Marundeeswar Thiruvanmiyur.jpg

An old uncle catches up with the day's news after his rounds at the temple

What's special about the temple is that it is big, occupying an acre of land, and is mostly untouched by renovation or refurbishment. The colours of the temple's gopurams remain true to its original shades. Its stone pillars have not been painted over. The beauty of the temple is undeniable. I had to admit, this was definitely one of the nicest temples I had set foot in.

5. Marundeeswar-inside-thiruvanmiyur.jpg

The temple also houses shrines for Lord Ganesha and Murugan.

6.Stone colonnade marundeeswar thiruvanmiyur.jpg

The mandapam or entrance to the main shrine is a stone colonnade with 36 intricately carved pillars telling the many stories of Shiva. Its sides are also places where people informally gather to exchange news and chit-chat.

Some of the most fascinating doors I have seen form the entrances to many parts of the temple. Beautifully carved, coloured and tessellated, they were my favourite parts of the temple.


Spotting more tessellations on doors


Parts of stone pillars unearthed from the temple compound


Temple artwork, a common sight in most old temples

11.Nagas_mArundeeswar.jpg

A series of snake idols are usually seen around the temple tree to alleviate a person of other problems

12.Marundeeswar West Entrance.jpg

The West Entrance leading to the East Coast Road with another 7-tiered gopuram

36085693_2087166621609808_8735805652900773888_n.jpg

A large covered space is where visitors choose to sit, speak and exchange news. A busy spot in the mornings and evenings, people also come by to sleep under the shade during the afternoons. It was then that I realised that temples were more than just places of worship. Temples are also places of public rest, recreation and interaction. According to my parents, the Marundeeswar temple is where all the neighbourhood mamas and maamis gather to unwind, catch up and arrange marriages. Some people have their beaches and bars. And others have their temples, churches and mosques.

Are your local religious institutions places of public interaction too?

manouche banner.jpeg

Sort:  

This is great. One of the charms that comes through your writing, and your art, is the way you are a blend of the traditional and the modern. You do this with such grace, it's hard to believe you are only 26 years old. I love this post--the uncle catching up on the day's news, the shaded walkway where people chat and relax, and the long view of the West Entrance to the temple. I feel more peaceful after having read this.

I'm also a bit shy to write, to be honest. So it's wonderfully encouraging to hear your words. I'd never thought of myself as a blend of the traditional and the modern but you're right. I couldn't have put it any better. I'm humbled, @agmoore. Thank you so much for the confidence boost. And thank you for reading!

Always a pleasure to read and see what your esthetic brings to us, either through photography or your own art (more of that, please!).

Hehe, yes. I realise I've not been posting any of my artwork recently. I don't have access to a scanner easily anymore and I just detest using my phone for the purpose. Definitely on my mind to restart the #drawdiction posts.

I love the blue door with yellow buttons, great patina...
It's weird we never visit the city where you live as a tourist does. I lived more than 15 years in Paris and never went to the Eiffel Tower. Only 2 years ago, I went to the top but this time I was a tourist :-)

Ah oui?!

Yeah I completely understand not going to the common sights of the place we live in. The Eiffel tower for me happened during a lazy afternoon with a friend when both of us realised that we had never been up to the top. We just did it on a whim.

The colours of the doors are just beautiful. I like doors.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 115 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

These are incredible photos! Thank you for sharing :D

Thanks for checking them out, @kristyglas! Quickly looled at your page and I love your artwork!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86