Color Challenge Wednesday Yellow - Vegas Towers

in #architecture7 years ago (edited)

Veer Towers, Las Vegas, Nevada

Vegas has some interesting architecture. You can see everything from what looks like an Egyptian pyramid (Luxor) to the Eiffel Tower (Paris). I was on a morning run when I took this shot of the Veer Towers. The buildings make up a 37 story condo complex sitting between the Aria and Cosmopolitan Resorts, and the Mandarin Oriental Residences.

When I took this picture, I thought it was a cool optical illusion that they appear to be leaning away from each other. I later found out that the architect, Francisco Gonzalez Pulido, actually designed them leaning five degrees away from each other. Quite amazing.

153AE247-4AFF-49D9-BE28-565347FB38E0.jpeg

This is my contribution to @kalemanda’s Color Challenge Wednesday Yellow.

3B4F73C7-20A7-4D70-9727-A04C49BBA2EE.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your post has been resteemed, upvoted and selected for The Daily spotlights of 4 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

That's a spectacular shot! Overall, Vegas is incredibly tacky but some of the architecture really can be eye catching, especially the newer buildings. Well done!

Thanks for the support!

Very interesting that it was intentional after all. Great photograph

Nice! It's been a few years since I've been to sin city. I don't gamble and it can get old after 10+ trips.

I do want to go to check out the cannabis scene out of curiosity though.

I’m not a gambler either, but I get there for business usually once a year for a conference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59