You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Naturhistorisches Museum Wien [Teil 1]: Architektur // Natural History Museum Vienna [Part 1]: Architecture

in #architecture5 years ago

Dear Anna,
I don't think there is anyone on Steemit who writes blogs that blend so eloquently history, art, culture and photography. I'm looking at it again as I write-- like looking at color plates in an art book.🎨
Your blog brings to mind a book,The Age of Insight, by Eric Kandel. You probably are familiar with him--he studies the connection between the brain and creativity. He states in the preface to this book,". ..the intellectual life of turn-of-the-century Vienna is in my blood." Kandel deals with a more modern period in art, but the sense of Vienna as a fulcrum of creativity is central to the book.
I was waiting for this blog. Nice to read on a Sunday afternoon.
Warm regards,🌞
Your New York admirer,
AG

Sort:  

Dear AG,

you don't know at all how much I am happy about your words of appreciation! Recognition is the best stimulus. Thank you for being my greatest motivator! 🌷

Eric Kandel is known to me as a neuroscientist who received the Nobel Prize for his groundbreaking work. Almost three weeks ago he was in his old hometown on the occasion of his 90th birthday, where he was honored at the University of Vienna. I don't know the book you mentioned, but it seems to be very interesting. I took a look inside at Amazon. Apart from the fascinating content, it should include also a lot of pictorial material of the time of Modernism upwards. I definitely have to take more time to read books again! Since I'm on Steemit, I've unfortunately neglected reading books very much.

Warm regards,
Anna, your friend from lovely Vienna

All praise to you well deserved :)
Kandel was a reference I got from @chappertron. Amazon had a used copy of this book, at a reasonable price, so it's mine! Yes, color prints. Great exposition. Clear prose. A delight, but not the sort you have to sit down and read at once. The book is a treasure trove that you can return to, at your convenience.
Great blogs like yours are not just a pleasure to read, they also are an example. Sometimes people get careless about what they post. And then they read your post and are reminded of what effort can yield.

From Long Island, where winter weather threatens, but has not arrived,
Your friend and admirer,
AG

What luck that you got a used edition of Kandel's 'The Age of Insight' at a reasonable price. The German Amazon shop offers the bound edition for 265 Euro. 😲 But there is also a softcover version available for 22 Euro. Christmas is coming soon ... 😇

The first Christmas markets are already open. But with the current mild autumn weather, I'm not yet in the mood for Christmas. I'm curious if it will snow in Vienna this winter.

Warm regards from your friend on the other side of the ocean,
Anna

🎄🎁 🎇
😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66