Ta Pinu Basilica on Maltese island of Gozo: place where miracles happen

in #architecturalphotography7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

Welcome to my blog :)

Today, I would like to take you to the beautiful Maltese island of Gozo. As the island is very small (just 67 sq km or 26 sq mi) and I spent 6 months there, I think I can say I got to see most of the beauties this tiny but enchanting piece of land has to offer.

I usually prefer natural sites when exploring foreign places but I must say the Ta Pinu Basilica really made a huge impression on me when I first visited it.

P1240947.JPG

Located just outside the village of Gharb, this majestic church is a Roman Catholic minor basilica and a national shrine dedicated to the Blessed Virgin of Ta Pinu.

The origins of this astounding piece of architecture remain largely unknown but what we do know is that its current appearance was built in neo-romanesque style and it was consecrated in 1932.

Considered one of the most sacred religious sites in all Malta, the Ta Pinu Basilica is also believed to have magical healing powers. There have been thousands of people who came to this basilica to pray to the Blessed Virgin of Ta Pinu and their wishes - no matter how unrealistic they seemed - were granted.

Consequently, the basilica is now full of various artifacts left by those people such as casts, crutches, hearing aids, ultrasound photos of babies, thank-you letters from people who beat cancer and other serious illnesses etc.

If you happen to visit the Maltese island of Gozo, make sure to see this church. It is a truly unique and somewhat magical place!

This is also my entry for today´s #architecturalphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

ahhh love these post showing my little homeisland!
seems like you visited before they put up the mural. Now there is the below right in front of the church

There is a mural on the back too showing the life and passion of Christ

Wow, I didnt know that! Thank you for educating me :) So you come from Gozo?

Yes born and raised in silent Gozo, now I work and live in Malta :)

Awesome, you are the first Gozitan I have met on Steemit :) I used to live in Marsalforno :)

We have a summer residence there, spent every summer for 20 years there. loved it.

Yes, its amazing place... very quiet in winter :)We loved going to the Ramla Beach :))

Nádherná stavba. Většina takových to staveb se stavěla na místech původních "pohanských" obětišť, která byla budována na zvláštních energetických místech a proto i tyto novější chrámy mají zvláštní energii

Díky za doplňující info :) Evidentně sis přečetl i (dnes trochu delší) text, to se cení :)

Nekoukám jen na obrázky ;-). Pokud je u nich nějaký popis, rád se dozvím něco nového ;-)

To je dobře, tak by to mělo, myslím si, být... Taky se o to snažím :) Ale normou to teda na Steemitu rozhodně není.

To dělá držkoknihová minulost ;-). Vidím obrázek, plácnu like :-(. A někdy je přitom obrázek jen doplňující k písemné informaci. I na fotosoutěžích je třeba k fotu podat nějaké info ;-)

I love Ta Pinu and Gozo. I also lived there for a while and my mum still does. It's one of my favourite places to visit. Even though it's changed quite a bit over the last 20 years it's still really peaceful and beautiful.

Yeah, I believe its been getting busier over the years but its still very quiet and peaceful compared to the main island of Malta :) Thanks for stopping by and leaving this nice comment!

Well executed architectural shot! Ahoj!

Ahoj! :D Thank you so much, just checked your profile and I am really honored to get this comment from such a great photographer! :) The church is very photogenic, it not difficult to take a nice shot of it :)

You are flattering me too much. LOL! I do what i enjoy. I see you do some stock shooting too. :-)

Yes, I do but I am a newbie to the world of stock photography, just like I am here on Steemit :) I just realized I love taking photos and I am planning to learn and practise :) And get a real camera too! :D

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Wow, this church looks magical! I haven't been to Malta yet, but this seems like a good reason to visit :)

Ha! Finally, I know about at least one country you havent been to! :D But yeah, Malta is a great place to visit... so much interesting stuff on one place :)

You've been so many places

You too :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @phortun to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Moc pěkný kostel.
Škoda, že Ti neodjeli s těma autama ;)

To jo no... ale i tak ten pohled stál za to. Široko daleko kolem nic nestojí, takže ta stavba krásně vyniká ze všech stran :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 6.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.26
Server time: 15:28:17
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 373.62/400.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 102
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.08 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77