Architectural Photography: majestic villa in Merida, once the richest city in the world

in #architecturalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Known for having the largest Mayan community of all major Mexican cities, Merida is home to some amazing landmarks dedicated to the ancient Mayan civilization (like the one I showed you in this post) but the city is also famous for brilliant colonial architecture dating back to centuries ago.

During the late 19th century and the early 20th century, the city flourished due to an enormous production of agave and many local businessmen got rich through selling these product. In fact, Merida was said to have more millionaires than any other city on the planet for some time during this era.

It was in this golden age of Merida when numerous large, opulent villas and palaces were built all over the city. The highest concentration of these architectural jewels can be found along the main boulevard Paseo de Montejo. Some of these majestic villas have been reconstructed and rented as office buildings, others are vacant, waiting for new occupants.

Here is a photo of one of these magnificent houses I took on Paseo de Montejo about a month ago.

IMG_20171221_125045.jpg
Click on the image for full view

This is also my entry for today´s #architecturalphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

That is a stunning vibrant picture of a beautiful architecture . The framing and composition is perfect. Cheers. Have a good one :)

thanks man!

A house made of gold.

The first time I heard the name of Mérida-Mexico was in a Mexican program and the Paseo Montejo I saw it for the first time in a Mexican novel called "Sortilegio", where the scenes that showed highlighted the cultural and Mayan beauty of this particular location. The structure that it possesses is fantastic, highlighting the Mayan ancestral range in many places of the city. In Venezuela there is also the beautiful city of Mérida I casually mention it to you in a comment of others of your post. I congratulate you for your photo, this very beautiful highlight the beauty that has this structure. Regards @phortun

Thank you for this nice comment :) I hope I will visit Venezuelan Merida one day too :)

The architecture is amazing. The details are superb. They did a great work conserving such buildings. The colors of the building together with the shadows help the intricate details stand out even more. Great shot by the way.

thank you for this professional review :) yeah, they have to take a good care of these buildings to keep them this neat and nice :)

Not a professional photographer but I'm an architect by profession. Hahaha

Very opulent, love the perspective

Hey @Phortun...LOVELY...so bright and beautiful! Makes me want to go to Merida more and more!

Quick question...have you ever not received the automated response from @phtotocontests for a photo submitted. I have always got them, but recently I have submitted to other entries by @juliank like #vehiclephotography and I am not getting the auto response. Can you help?

Hey, thanks for the comment :) Yes, I havent been getting these automatic responses lately either... (you can see that in this post, for example :D) I think they have been struggling with their bandwidth limits...

That's so vibrant it doesn't even look real. Nice work.

Yeah, the colors stood out :) Thanks!

amazing..just amazing pic..wonderful photography...keep it up

it's a very beautiful design of building and hou captured it very great. newbie here , followed you to get inspiration and cant wait for your new posts 👍😍❤️❤️❤️

thank you :)

this is a beautiful creation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29