Merida Homeland Monument: majestic piece of architecture built in honor of the old Mayans

in #architecturalphotography6 years ago (edited)

I could not resist joining today´s #architecturalphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests as I just stumbled upon a photo of me at the Homeland Monument, a giant sculpture found at the boulevard Paseo de Montejo in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico.

IMG_20171221_110624.jpg

Completed in 1956, this impressive structure was designed by Colombian artist Romulo Rozo to pay tribute to the old Mayans who used to live in this part of Mexico. In fact, Merida still has the largest Mayan community from all big Mexican cities - more than a half of its population is of Mayan origin.

IMG_20171221_120936.jpg

As you can see, I visited the site during the day but the locals said it is actually better to come at night when the sculpture is lit up, giving it even more captivating look.

IMG_20171221_120349.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Those are awesome pictures, @phortun.
Cheers, @mbgbtb.

esto de acuerdo con usted... son buenas

Nice photography it reminds my childhood watching legends of the hidden temples.great post I like it :)

yeah, it does look like something from an adventure movie :) thanks for stopping by

Never knew structures like this existed !!

Another reason for you to come to Mexico, Ben :)

Vypadá to, že je tam dobrá energie. A v noci s plápolajícími ohni to nejspíš je energetická bomba ;-)

Jo, v noci to musí být super :) A máš pravdu, energii starých mayských válečníků to místo opravdu vyzařuje ;)

I'm from Merida and I love your picture!

What a good photo! The details that monument has are perfect! The color is special! I congratulate you on that picture!

cheers,

Vaci.

Thank you for your feedback :)

Great friend, I'm from Mérida I hope you enjoy being here.
you have a new follower

Really? You live in a beautiful city then! :) Thanks for the follow, hopefully you will like my content :)

yes friend, I hope we have support in my posts, we are to support us.

I loved Merida!! I spent three months last year living in the city just for a cultural change and loved it so much! Have followed you :) You might like my posts too!

Wow, spending 3 months in Merida must have been an amazing experience :) Except for the heat :D Thanks for the follow, I will check your content too :)

Incredible! The detail is beautiful!

Wow... It is really cool and historical place... World has unique beauties... I like your pictures... They are all nice coloured and wellframed...

Congrats...

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34