📸 Akron, Ohio Photo Collection - Fast Read with 9 Pictures

in #architecturalphotography6 years ago (edited)

I’ll be the first to admit it: I never thought I’d be interested in visiting Akron, Ohio. What’s even there? The National college Football Hall of Fame or something?

Anyhow, the city is also right on Ohio’s Eric Canal which was been established as the Cuyahoga National Park in 1974. Definitely worth a visit in the autumn if you can make it out there.

As for Akron, turns out the city has plenty of aesthetic beauty built into it’s structures downtown. This post is a collection of the buildings I captured pictures of while there in October of 2017.

Enjoy Them!

Akron Art Museum

The modern "wing" of the Akron Art Museum has cantilevered wings projecting out from it's large central section. It's a futuristic-looking building and when I first saw it, I knew that it would be great to get some pictures of the structure.

This small courtyard seems to be for events but none were active during my visit. It was raining and a little cold, October isn’t the best time for outdoor activities.

The brick building on the right is the original Art Museum that has been preserved and even gives support to one of the wings of the modern addition. I like that the city and architects decided to maintain as well as incorporate this original structure with the expansion.

Sorry, but the name of this piece or the artist that casted it escaped me that day. It is located in a small alcove on the exterior of the Akron Art Museum between the modern new addition and the original brick structure.

I'm not really sure who the figures are but I imagine it's a "Pan and Wendy" type of scenario but maybe I’m biased.

....and you too could be touched by the Devilish One

Carnegie Library of Akron, Ohio

This is the entrance facade of the building. Andrew Carnegie donated money to build libraries all over for a while there. One of the library buildings exists near where I live too. Probably more, if I did a little research. Are there any near where you are from still standing or operation?

Libraries are an incredible resource.

Huntington Bank

Above the entrance of the building was this decorative facade. Deco style is always attractive to me.

Have you gone to Akron? I was really surprised by how much I liked the area after spending a few days there.

Civic Theater

What an incredible structure, right? This building is located downtown in Akron, Ohio. I really like the neon work of the signage.

Though you can't see due to the edit, there is a huge line stretched out in front of the building.

Photo Apr 24, 5 51 27 AM (3).jpg

This singular column is located across the street from the theater in a small lot. I used it for the introductory piece of a photograph series called “Monoliths”.

It’s often the case that the places we travel to are perceived as underwhelming. Unless there is a “first tier” perspective to the destination, it can seem as if cities or areas that aren’t covered in popular media outlets offer little in the way of excitement. Besides the National Park, it wasn't clear to me what else I might want to photograph while there.

Luckily, my aunt was up for a walk around town with the dogs and had enough patience to let me wander the streets. All these images are from that few short hours when the rain held off just long enough for us to see the downtown area.

Thanks for taking a look

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Excellent, really appreciate the listing. Hopefully, there are some other posts I'm working on that make the grade. Thank you for the vote support.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.75 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.15
Server time: 21:38:50
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 466.90/800.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You had me at hello. The opening of this post made me smile. That theatre and bank are absolutely gorgeous. Who knew! The nostalgia of the theatre especially. It almost makes me want to go to Ohio.

Yeah, Akron wasn't an immediate sell for me either but I liked Cuyahoga a lot. As it turns out, really there are great structures all over the country if you're willing to invest a little time exploring and find the character of buildings. Always something to take a picture of out there...

That's the case with most places I think if we take the time to look around.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mdf-365
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=akron-ohio-photo-collection-easy-read-with-9-pictures


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That first building is funky.

Yeah, it definitely is - probably why I took so many pictures around it. Thanks for checking out this collection

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66