Rustic Cliff-top Shack, For Your Viewing and Dining Pleasure – Architectural Photography

in #architecturalphotography6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry in the ArchitecturalPhotography contest by @juliank.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

This rustic restaurant is housed in a rudimentary little structure on Koh Lanta, a little-known Thai island just off the coast of Krabi. As you travel southwards on the island’s coastal road, the beaches come to an end, turning into a hilly, rocky coastline.

All the comforts of … a city? (Avoid!)

The steep cliffs are not very suitable for resorts or guesthouses. On the other hand, there were several restaurants with decent views. Unfortunately, most of them were uncomfortable upscale restaurants. They had been built by first tearing away large portions of the cliffs, and then erecting large, ugly concrete boxes that looked totally out of place – as if they belonged in a city.

Those buildings may have been decorated and embellished to look respectable or even fancy, but that only made them even more improper for their setting on a tropical island. I avoided them.

A shack, a snack, and a view of the blue 

This one, however, did not disturb its environment in any way. In fact, I’m sure that the builders did not even move any of the dirt or rocks on which it was built. They simply erected the frame of the shack and secured it to the cliff.

It may not have been perfectly secure, but it was safe enough for me. Moreover, this modest little place had the most stunning view over the Andaman Sea – bar none. And the food was delicious.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.95 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.19
Server time: 10:30:21
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 409.74/800.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

And I'm sure the food was reasonably priced too :)

Very reasonable. And unreasonably delicious.

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote
Resteem Over 10,500+ Followers

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4400+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 10,500+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

I haven't been to Koh Lanta, but I have been near Kraby. Definitely on top of my favorite place in South East Asia, how amazingly beautiful! Thanks for sharing. :)

Hmmm, I did not go TO Krabi, but just passed through it. But of all the wonderful beaches and seascapes in Thailand, I think Krabi was a reputation for being among the finest.

I might try to go there soon.

Thailand has great beaches and beautiful places!

Man I wish I was there right about... now! Eating a pad thai and sipping on a singha.
Love Koh Lanta :)

Right. And another good time would be ... now!

All told, Koh Lanta was probably the best vacation I had in Thailand (of about 10 trips). The beach, the scenery, the restaurants / cafes / bars, the little villages, and the people -- all were simply wonderful

I had 2 weeks of ultimate relaxation in a great environment. I might go back there soon.

Haha! Yeah same. Although I find each island I've been to in Thailand to provide travelers with a bunch of different vibes, all unique and gorgeous in their own way. (except maybe for Koh Samet... not a big fan of that one)

Happy travels :)

I've been on Koh Samet twice, and each time, i stayed at comfy, cozy, quiet places. So, I kinda like it. But I did not like the busy beaches with the large resorts, or the chaotic little town right near the north pier.

I even found a little paradise .... believe it or not ... on Phuket. I never had any desire to go to that island, but when I lived in Singapore, I had a 4-day weekend and wanted a quick trip. I could fly to Phuket after finishing work in the eve, then, after 4 longs day, fly back to SG late at night.

I did a bit of research, and found a virtually deserted beach at the end of a cul-de-sac behind Nai Harn. A place called Ao Sane beach. Very peaceful. One rustic but comfy guesthouse on that beach, and another upscale resort.

Much of the rest of Phuket is kinda like a city ... horrible.

The only island in Thailand that i did not really like was Koh Sichang, just north of Pattaya. A bit rural, but no attractive beaches.

No I wasn't a big fan of the busy beaches either. The resorts were fine, but the island itself wasn't as amazing compared to all the other ones.
I also went at a time when the weather was not ideal so that probably didn't play in its favour.

Thanks for the tips on Ao Sane. I'll keep that in mind for myself and others who often ask for tips on Thailand. I must admit Phuket is usually just a transit town for me.

Having a delicious food on the table while endulging the sea breeze... Fantastic! Sea view is always pleasing to my eyes, and even more amusing when it's free from any debris produced by careless individuals.

Good point. On my recent vacation on Koh Samet, there was quite a bit of trash that washed up on the shore.

But when I was in Koh Lanta, the sea was blue, the water was clean and unpolluted. Almost like paradise!

I’d pay extra for this view rather than being in the city. It’s very relaxing. I’m looking forward to be on another island again. 😊

Ya, I'd pay to get out of the city and go there again. Maybe soon.....

Where do you plan to go next?

No plans. Maybe to Singapore to visit my old home and pick up some of my belongings.

As for beaches, I'm not sure. Maybe back to Koh Lanta. It was very relaxing and blissful.

How about the Philippines? 🇵🇭

Maybe ... maybe ... maybe ...

..cant help but notice the shades of blue and how the horizon cuts the ocean and the sky.
Theres a lot of structures like that here in Cebu sir @majes.tytyty,some were restaurants and a karaoke place found below the 2nd Marcelo Fernan Bridge.

Yes, two shades of blue, with a bit of brown wood. Sitting there looking over the ocean and into the sky, it was like I was awash in blue. Very nice, indeed.

Next time, maybe Cebu!

You almost makes me feel to come over to Thailand, IF ONLY I wouldn't think live in Cambodia! :D

This is one of the most original buildings that I once saw. Good luck to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05