Elephant Building Bangkok Thailand architecturalphotography

in #architecturalphotography6 years ago (edited)

The Elephant Building in Bangkok Thailand is an Iconic landmark. I am sorry to say I think it looks like a duck. I know it has the long legs of an elephant, but the tusks look like a bill to me.

elephant building and wires bangkok thailand fitinfun.jpg

This large building is on the road to the Airport north of town, and I also use this same path to get to Thai Immigration. It can be seen from the BTS train and also from many highways. I always look to see the elephant and I always see the duck!

On this day I was stuck underneath here for at least ten minutes in heavy traffic, and so I got a lot of shots. All of my shots have the wires, that so dominate my view of this city. I was not happy on that day of slowly moving cars, but now I am so glad to have the photos. Out of any bad time, comes brightness.

This is my entry for the #architecturalphotography @photocontests by @juliank. I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera.

= =

I am blogging about weight loss to help others get thin and healthy like I did. If you or anyone you know is struggling to beat obesity, please follow along and you can do this too.

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

Let's Pretend to Lose Weight - Deciding to track your weight and face reality
Yes, You CAN Lose Weight! - Finding out your BMI and getting over excuses
Weight Loss - Let’s Get Started Today - First steps to successful weight loss
Portion Sizes and Nutrition How big is a portion of food?
Weight Loss Bad Ideas Don't try these!
Easy Exercise - Stretching and Walking If you are fitness walking, stretching before and after will help you in many ways.
Weight Loss Food Fixes Start here for some ideas about improving your food.

Help Us Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are my wallet and PayPal addresses where I will be so grateful for any help. Any input or ideas will be so welcome.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

Byteball

6IMJINL2UG3XPT2WJDUGNGBDC4HUCOXL

PayPal Thailand:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]

Sort:  

hey you, my fav monstrous building! Currently out of the country again but read about you trying to get to Malaysia.Go 3rd class train , no reserved seats and is just 335baht, hop a van from hatyai go the border for 80b and the anothet train from wakaf bharu or get a bus from Hat yai directly to KL for about 600baht....If youre really struggling, get to the airport, swampy, dmk in bangkok or KLIA, you can hang out there almost indefinitely if youre discreet, will give you chance to get sorted, and you'd have cheap food and free wifi...seriously, A few years back I was stuck at both swampy and klia for a while. It was a cinch and was actually quite an enjoyable experience...just don't get into hassle with your landlord, youve seen how easily they turn nasty and for gods sake dont end upon overstay, that would be a nightmare scenario.
Is there no way you could simply get to the US embassy and let them get you home and then you and your son could get it together and regroup and sort things together ?
You take care, I know all the absolute cheapest ways to do things from bitter experience ;-)
At least in malaysia, no visa run hassles for 3 months...

Wow! You are my hero @nathan007! Thank you for all the tips! Come hell or high water - I will not overstay. I know about the problems others have been through, and I am not going to end up in immigration jail!

Thank you so much for the info about the trip. I plan already to take the train so I can have more luggage and fluids and metal. It is too much for me to check bags and I need my implements!

I have the knowledge about getting to Hat Yai. I was told already not to book the train all the way to the border. Some one else said it would be cheaper to buy the onward ticket to the border at Hat Yai and then figure out how to go on after I got there. I have not really even looked at the options for once I get over the border. But I most certainly need to get to kl asap.

I have never gone 3rd class, but I was thinking I would. Do you think it will be somewhat empty so I can lie down and get sleep? I can sleep anywhere, especially on a plane, train, or boat. And by the time I get on that train I will be so relieved I will pass out as soon as I can. But I have always gone 2nd class with ac on prior trips. Remember, I am old, with arthritis, and I do not want to be dead when I get to hat yai. I want to be rested. I think the 2nd class no ac is about 650 thb and you get the bed that way. The trip is 18-20 hours, I think.

"hop a van from hatyai go the border for 80b and another train from wakaf bharu or get a bus from Hat yai directly to KL for about 600baht" <<< Can you break all this down more for me? I have always flown before on three trips to Malaysia and I am not familiar with Hat Yai at all. Can I get all the way to klia or kl Sentral in one shot?

I had not even though of going to Wakaf Bharu. Is that better than Padang Besar? Will the buses to either place get me though the border?

I could stay at the airport for sure. That place is amazing and I know no one would bother me. But I found a hostel in walking distance from Pasar Seni for 979 thb per 7 days and already booked the first three weeks there. But if I get to Hat Yai in the early morning, can I even make it to kl by midnight?

I did not have to give money or a cc for the hostel, so I can change. Is wifi free in the whole airport? I already shopped there once for a few hours and I know it is like a city. You have me thinking now. A long time ago I read a story by a guy who lived at LAX for a few weeks, and I am not adverse to the idea at all. Where would I sleep lol?

The embassy helps no one in my situation and going back to California with no cash would not be a wise course. As much as I miss my son, and I know he loves me, he cannot tolerate me for very long. I am the cause of his ptsd, and make it worse. So we would need to stay in separate households and I sure have no money for that.

You are a lifesaver - TYTYTY

Go to Swampy until its time for your visa to end, bfloormis best at night, look like a tourist , no one will bug you, many many airport staff used to rollout mats and sleep under the moving walkways down there, and you can change floors so you dont become familiar to anyone.
About 5 years ago, I know an English guy did 5 months there....now I believe its a bit harder long term but a few nights or week or so Im sure no issues. Theres also 4 seat benches with no arm rests but you need to be quick to get one booked early in the basement! theres magic food court on g floor at the very north end for cheap food..its where the staff eat and 7 11s which are a couple of baht dearer than normal....drinking water is free and with a little fiddling, youll get 24 hour wifi, or at worst, buy ond subway, or a coffee, they never change their passwords.
For entertainment, get a 48 van from g floor to the traffic lights at lat krabang (10b or 20 with bags!) many really nice guest house, small hotel for 700 a night as a treat and get showered and sort laundry out, for an hour out of airport, if youre going stir crazy, free shuttle bus to transport interchange, have a 7 11 there, come back again!
KLIA and KLIA2 is a fraction more expensive, but just as easy and changing from one to the other is free now!
Ok, 3rd class train to hat yai is usually busy but get a window seat and you will grab some sleep. 3rd class is a tough trip but doable, and its onlh 330ish baht. It never gets to hat yai on time but there are a few trains.
When you get off at hat yai, directly in front of the entrance are a couple of agencies, Ive always managed to get a bus around 3pm which gets into KL at about 1am....you can get buses direct to Puda Sentral (puduraya) which is in the middle of town near china town, but to get to KL sentral for an airport bus youd need a taxi at that time of night and I do t think they run all night, nothing between midnight and 5 I think, there ks a 24h maccies at KL Sentral though and its safe to hang out there.
Other buses from hat yai go to Terminal Berespadu, and that is a 24 hour bus terminal, busy and bright all nightand 24hour bus service to KLIA2.
Again, I seem to remember bus fares are around 550 to 600baht all the way from hat yai. Buses are comfy and easy to sleep on and the Malaysian highway is smooth!
Other options....bus to Satun, about 550Baht, boat to Langkawi 300Baht, then about 650 by bus including ferry to KL....train from bkk to Sungai Kolok, the the border is a short 1km walk..then get local bus to Kota Bharu, then workout train or bus from there....
Lots of choices..but if you can stand the 3rd class ride to hat yai, this is cheapest option. but like you say 2nd class aircon sleeper on a top bunk is not too much more...definitely get off at Hat yai and direct bus from there but you will need to book well in advance and this weekend is holiday so everything will be busy!

Holy moly! Thank you for all this information and I will get on it! I am so thankful to you!

2nd class aircon seat o a railcar is 675 to hat yai, sleeper is 1075 or a smidge cheaper for a top bunk!
www.seat61.com/thailand

I think I will go to Terminal Berespadu. I leaving here on Tue 7/31, so I don't think the weekend crowd will be a problem. So the bus from hat yai will get me through the border, and then on to the terminal late at night on the 1st or early on the 2nd. Then I will stay there until the morning, eat and use the wifi and go to my hostel on the 2nd during the day. I think that will work. It seems like that bus station is good and will be an easy ride to kl sentral after that. Whew!

Do I need to reserve the bus now?

No, I've always just booked the bus on arrival, but that was the only choice I had then! Good luck with the trip :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67685.37
ETH 3498.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71