The Dome - Architectural Photography in Edinburgh


20171204-IMG_6013.jpg

This is the Dome. I am submitting it to @juliank's daily challenge under architectural photography. Its a wonderful example of classic georgian architecture that Edinburgh is filled with. British architects had a major love affair back then with columns. Many of the architects of the time would go to Italy and Greece to study and to be inspired. So they all came back with grandiose visions of the acropolis, and gladiator arenas .. I'm extrapolating here.. but we do have an 'acropolis' here in the city.

Anyway, its a stunning building inside and out.. although I haven't been inside since 2000.. when I worked there as a barman. Its lovely inside, the food is good, the drink is good and its quite amazing a place, but working there was hell. The managers were horrible and spent half the day on coke-induced mood swings (that was then, probably totally different staff now) and treated their staff like crap. I lasted 2, maybe 3 weeks. The final straw for me was when they refused to give me any time off for exams at the end of the school year, despite in my interview telling me they would accommodate that. Their idea of accommodating me was to not put me on a shift at the time of an exam. Absurd. Maybe I'll go in one day and grab a few shots of the interior. I bet its changed a fair bit since those days!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Wow, this is wonderful photo of The Dome, which is the first choice venue of many residents of Edinburgh when meeting their friends and family. You have my upvote for this beautiful photo!

Thanks! It is a glorious place :)

Stunning photo, I love the angle and how you caught it at that dusky point in the day so the lighting and decorations on the building really pop out.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks mate, dusk is definitely the best time for this shot. I wanted to get the detail of the light decorations as well as the building's details (it has many), which you don't get once its full on night time :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Oh! I'd love to visit this building one day. What a lovely shot with the lights on the front and the darkening sky. :)

Thanks! Its a lovely building and you feel very posh when you go in for a drink :)

Thanks! Its a lovely building and you feel very posh when you go in for a drink :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43