Firework Festival - First Night Mascleta In Northern Europe - Zena Trophy 2018

in #archisteem6 years ago (edited)

The first time I'd heard about the Zena Trophy was last year, when I came across an impressive daylight firework video on Youtube. Immediately curious, I did some research. This is an annual festival held by a Dutch pyrotechnic manufacturer named Zena. After reading that the 2018 edition would include a night mascletà, which would also be the loudest fireworks ever seen in Germany, I started plotting. Am I really so crazy for mascletàs that I would travel to Germany to see one? The answer, of course, is "yes".

 Zena Trophy 2018

On the border between Germany and the Netherlands is an amusement park called Wunderland, run by a Dutch businessman. It's one of the strangest parks you'll ever visit, but more on this later. With a hotel and tons of green space in the middle of an otherwise empty area, Wunderland is the perfect location for a crazy fireworks festival.

I arrived in Kalkar on a gray, rainy day, and checked into my hotel with enough time to prepare my camera and my mind for over five hours of fireworks. The weather unfortunately wouldn't improve throughout the evening, but amazingly none of the fireworks had to be suspended.

Zena Trophy

At 6:30pm, a daylight firework opened the festival. This was a beautiful display, beginning with a sea of sparkling stars and ending with colorful smoke bombs, and it set the bar high for the rest of the night. After this, I relaxed, confident in the quality of this festival which I'd traveled so far to see.

Looking at the setup for the night mascletà, a huge field densely packed with fireworks, I could tell it was going to be intense. And I wasn't disappointed. It's with a mixture of pride and shame that I admit to having seen well over a hundred mascletàs in my life, and this one left me extremely impressed. It started out with an synchronized, choreographed show of flare lights and ended with a huge cloud of smoke. And it really was tremendously loud. Valencians would have been wild with enthusiasm, but the Germans in the crowd -- who had literally never seen such a loud fireworks display -- were shocked.

Now the true competition started, featuring fireworks in category II. These are fireworks which can be purchased over the counter, without any special license. And the amazing displays at the Zena Trophy proved that with enough money and skill, anyone can create an incredible show.

Another highlight was the Show-Off firework from Zena, which was designed to demonstrate the abilities of the company. And yes, it was actually called the "Show-Off" firework; a bit on-the-nose, but you have to appreciate the honesty. This was a massive display with many surprise elements, and held my attention despite the late hour.

I was freezing cold, wet and exhausted, but fell into my bed at the hotel happy. I smelled of smoke and saw exploding fireworks as soon as I closed my eyes. As I fell asleep, I was already thinking about attending next year's event.

Many more videos and pictures of the Zena Trophy Firework Festival 2018

Zena Trophy 2018

 Zena Trophy 2018

Footer_for91days

Travel Blog


Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://for91days.com/blog/2018/10/01/zena-trophy-2018/

Sort:  

I also enjoyed fireworks but only watching them! I would never do it myself as with my luck I would end up with no fingers (Best case scenario though).

It looks like a great event and I'm glad to hear that you were not disappointed.

Thank you for sharing your impression with us!

Thank you for stopping by and yeah - it's like playing with fire! But so much fun! Can't keep all my 10 fingers away from it though.

Very cool! My brother in law used to work for a fireworks distributor in the state where I live. They are actually one of the largest ones in the region. They do a demo show near where I live every year and you can see the fireworks above the trees. My brother in law got to go to the big festival in the southwest and was supposed to go to Dubai for a show, but didn't. Very cool stuff.

Oh ... say hello to your brother and if there is a unique show, I might consider the trip. Thank you for stopping by!

No problem, my brother in law changed jobs though. He had a firework explode in his hands while moving it and although he recovered okay he decided on a career change shortly after that. I don't blame him :)

OMG .. me neither!!! Woah!

Dear @for91days,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by for91days from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

amazing shots! I can never seem to photograph fireworks!

Thank you. These were actually shot handheld on a pretty high ISO. If you're ever in Valencia for Fallas happy to show you how it do it :)

just one word, I think you can guess it:
Wow!

Happy you liked it!!!

Hi @for91days!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.560 which ranks you at #1751 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #152.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Amazing display and so much money going up in smoke :P But when it can produce such a spectacular display, it's worth it. Great videos full of "wow" :)

Also there were many industry leaders there - looking at new products. It's basically a live advertisement billboard. Thank you for taking the time to check out the videos too. I had some issues, due to the rain. But at the end it worked out.

Not a bad place to make the most of a spectacular show with all that showing off to do! Hope the rain didn't dampen your spirits too much (no pun intended)...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #333. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=for91days
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fireworkfestival-firstnightmascletainnortherneurope-zenatrophy2018-poyc8fli5s


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57