The Flip (Emotional Game Moments contest entry)

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

Chercheeze small.jpg

I play a lot of games, but I've only ever seen one flipped board.

Among my friends in high school, getting angry for real in a game was a necessary taboo. Break the social contract like that and you'd find yourself shunned.

Dave was sweeping across across Asia — none could stand before him. He controlled two continents by the second round. It had become a running joke that everyone else had already lost.

Dave was a year behind the rest of us, and a little brother to all of us, including his actual older brother.

He ran hot. Quick to anger but quicker still to leap to your defence. We were opposites in a lot of ways. We got to be pretty close.

I'd gone away to college. I hadn't gone terribly far, and I was very bad at making friends at the time, so pretty much every weekend that first year I went home to visit friends.

He would drive up every week if I asked. He was always ready to come get me in his frankly disgusting piece of crap Mustang with the door I had to hold closed. We'd hang out all weekend, with me sleeping on couches to avoid my parents knowing I was in town.

In my second year I started to make friends at college, and the hangout spaces at home got grosser and weirder as my old friends drifted into party culture. I like parties as much as the next painfully awkward teetotalling geek, and I enjoy the spectacle of watching other people get drunk and do stupid things.

My frustration was that my nerdy friends were now the cool guys who invited high schoolers to ragers. It clashed with my self image, and objectively it was pretty creepy.

Dave was a rock though. He was always there when I called, available to hang out and play games or just talk.

Still, I felt alienated by what my friends were becoming and much more comfortable around the new friends I was making.

So I called him less and less. By my third year of college it was a rare event for me to come home, and I typically stayed with my parents when I did.

My last year away my mom was diagnosed with cancer, so I moved back to help take care of her as she went through treatment. I had hoped to be able to reconnect with my old friends as well.

Truth was, though, not much had changed. The old hangouts and people were stranger than ever.

Which brings me back to the game. We'd played many a game of Risk before, but we'd never once finished. Typically people would drop out one by one with the remaining players stuck fighting back and forth over Europe and Africa until somebody quit or fell asleep. It had long been a dream to actually end a game with a winner.

This particular game was organized with no such hope though. It was just meant to be an afternoon of gaming on neutral ground to try and reconnect.

Nonetheless, Dave was killing it. He'd already all but knocked out his brother, and the other three players had battered each other badly. He held Australia and Asia and had most of Europe. The Americas were a patchwork. I held Africa. As the only other player with a continent, I was next.

We were so close to ending a game, and Dave was not shy about how excited he was to be the first true victor.

Then it came, the flip.

Dave's endless horde attacked me in Egypt. He cleared all but one of my troops flawlessly, but the last one refused to budge. He rolled and lost once, twice, three times.

He growled, “Again.” Hope rose in my chest. Maybe I could actually hold him off.

The dice fell and the board flew.

Honestly, I thought it would be funny.

We'd spent the whole game complaining that he could not be stopped. I thought at least his brother would enjoy it. I grinned madly in a room full of slack jaws.

No one even chuckled. We just picked up the game. His older brother gave me an earful about how disappointed they all were that I'd taken away their chance to have a winner. Dave was just quiet.

Our group of friends did not reform. There are lots of reasons for this of course, it's not all my fault. Not long afterwards I moved away.

A few years later Dave was t-boned while in pursuit of a suspect.

The game was not the last time I saw him. It's just the last story I have with him. Something so small and stupid.

At the funeral we all talked about how much we regretted not seeing him more. Well I did anyway. The implied lesson was that we should now spend more time together. Play more games. Not dwell on regrets but live!

But we didn't. I didn't. We all have jobs and other friends, houses and kids.

Life moves on, no matter what you do.

I didn't know that was going to be the last story we'd have together. I didn't know we'd never get to finish a game of Risk. You never know when it's going to be the last time you see anyone, or do anything.

Not long after the funeral I went to a board game club for the first time. I met my wife there and lots of great friends too. If I hadn't turned away from my old group I never would have had my son.

It's not a lesson, it's just what happens.

SB_new.png

Sort:  

This is phenomenal. So much more than a games post.

10/10, would cry over Risk again

This is so real. I feel for your loss, I have been there too.

At first, I was going to make a comment about how fickle dice can be and not to take that seriously, but that is rather insignificant now.

Now there is the case of loss, missed connections and what-ifs. I am glad that your story concluded at least with you moving on with the rest of your life.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

You will never know what life going to bring you!

Aw, man. Sad story. Very compelling though. Games can bring friends together. I'm glad you and friend got to enjoy some good times.

This post kind of chills my blood to read, especially with a game called Risk, which is the theme of every day we live, it can be taken away in an instant, never to be finished.

My friends and I discovered how much fun this game was because it brought out our competitive natures, but we soon learned it also exponentially heightened our adrenaline. Some of our games ended due to board-game flipping fits. I'll take the blame for most of them, because I was a conniving truce-maker, willing to flip alliances to whichever side provided me the best advantage.

I've learned my lesson, and decided to keep that game in the closet, because it really just wasn't fun anymore once it got down to the last two players, and none of the losing players could participate for those ending hours. It always came down to dumb luck of the dice, and whichever player was going to get the final card match. With an army large enough, any idiot could conquer the world in a single turn. Nobody wanted to lose to an idiot.

Wow. You really got me choked up there @fromage

I love gaming and I'm a little intense sometimes, so I can relate but your story about Dave has really hit home. I've just lost a friend too and you do think back to the last time you saw them or the opportunities that you maybe didn't take to see them when you could have. It's very tough.

Thanks for posting.

Gaz

Damn dude. Thanks for the share. I'll be following your content a lot more closely for sure.

I am literally Speechless, dude. I didn't think things could get this Dark over a game like Risk but oh boy it sure did.

Things come and go, that's a given. We should learn not to hold things dear in our heart and rather just appreciate them while they're there, present and alive just right in front of us.

GG man, well played. You did what you had to do and it paid off in a way you can appreciate. Cheers for existing in (maybe) the correct timeline.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67494.12
ETH 3222.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65