Contest Entry: Game Villain(s) You Would Like to Kill Again

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago

There is only one villain that comes to mind when I read game villain(s) you would like to kill again from this contest post. That would be Truebred Eve from the Parasite Eve Trilogy. After several years from finishing it’s first game PE1, it still amazes me how much the game went undervalued during its time. I guess you can call it my bias for loving the game as an entry level for horror games. It’s not all horror but there are scenes in the game that would give the creeps from the unsuspecting.

Parasite Eve became the first game I truly thought I finished only to realize a few years after I got it all wrong. This has largely to do with the existence of Purebred Eve in the game. This link would explain everything you need to know about the super boss but that’s not what this post is about. The post is about why this villain led me to change my approach when playing rpg games in general.

Summary of the Post:

Some background of the game [Warning: Spoilers]
Backstory of the Mistake
How I discovered the mistake
Redemption and Lessons
Sources of Images
Footer


Background of the game

Eve is the main antagonist of the game, but it’s not a person but a sentient evolved mitochondria that plans on extinction of the human race. For simplification reasons, we’ll just refer to Eve as a she. She is able to control the mitochondria of other cells to produce more ATP (biochemical energy) in her victims causing rapid acceleration of cell metabolism on crazy levels that people experience their bodies spontaneously burning. The antagonist of the game is the parasite that lives in Melissa Pearce.

Backstory of the Mistake

I was a kid making the most of my summer back then. I got a fresh stack of Playstation 1 games to play and a few weeks left of summer to finish them. You’d know by now that I’m playing to finish as many games as I can and Parasite Eve was one of them.

I wasn’t the type of gamer that would ask for help with my games. I played all of my games with the intention of solving the obstacles on my own. Not that the internet would help me back then, I was a kid who had no access to the internet or even knew of it’s power back then. I’m talking about the beginning of the 21st century living in a developing country.

I’d grind my way if I have to just to ensure that I’ll defeat the boss with the first try (this one took me 5 or 6 tries). Grinding was time consuming but it did lessen the difficulty of a boss in the late stages so it actually saves me more time and less headaches.

In Parasite Eve, the final boss was the Ultimate Being, born from Eve’s cells and a sperm containing no mitochondria. As a superboss, it’s supposed to do 1 hit KO or two if lucky on you. AND I CAN’T BELIEVE I MISSED IT.

How I discovered the mistake

Call it a beginning gamer’s mistake but after clearing the game, it’s common to unlock the secret levels. And silly me not knowing this mechanic all along. It was only after a few years when I unboxed my PS1 and saw the disc that I took a trip back to memory lane. But this time it was different, because before even starting the game again I had internet to share some stories with me.

You can piece up together by now that I learned about Truebred Eve during some searching more about the game. I never really finished the game and that was a hell of a shocker after. It’s like finding out your pride as a gamer was never built on solid foundation, not cool.

But no one needs to know right? Nobody in my social circle even knew the game exists and I failed to kill the real boss, but I did.

Redemption and Lessons

I didn’t mind reliving the memories as I walk through the game chasing Eve. I don’t know if any gamer has experience this feeling or if I could express the right words to describe the mix of frustration and excitement of playing the game again.

This game was the first game I thought I cleared and I am doing it again but there was no shame. I wanted to screw around with the enemies that made me take one step forward and three steps back when I was a kid. The game had some scenes that featured horror themes in them and my eyes weren’t used to gore elements.

It’s funny to see how your perspective changes through time when playing your first real game again after several years. Melissa Pearce, the game’s antagonist and host of Eve, was surprisingly relatable than I knew her back then. I just thought she was just crazy mentioning figurative deals with the devil just to get the show running. But this was a person that wanted to do anything they can to fulfill their ambitious goals.

I realized how mature I became after being able to relate to the characters in depth. Parasite Eve did felt like a linear storyline/game but there were moments when characters did what any normal people would actually do in that that world’s situation. You see a monster, you run. See something you don’t understand, you run. Think you have powers to defeat the monster, you fight because you’re the only one capable of getting the job done and you’re a police officer (referring to the protagonist’s role in the game). Point is, it’s that change of perspective in a few years that lets you be more engaged with any game’s universe.

Maturity to accept the story as it is even if you raise your eyebrow at how ridiculous it can be. If it’s a game you love, it doesn’t really matter if it disobeyed the laws of physics like Cloud’s gravity defying hair, because if the game helps you put your skeptic side on pause, manages to help you lose tract of time, be challenged and chill, then it’s already a game worth playing again.

Ok so back to the Villain Truebred Eve.

Needless to say it was a pain to do trial and error but surprisingly worthwhile as it did tested my wits to the limit. Fighting Truebred Eve felt like fighting a force you were meant to feel cheated on and small. You have to time your skills, dodge and then make every turn count because one false move and you’ll be back on loading your game from the checkpoint.

Like seriously, the Chrysler Building in the game didn’t allow you to save until you reached a specific floor number but you have to go throught several floors with mini bosses that were overwhelming to fight during your early levels.

I love Truebred Eve because defeating her gave me satisfaction of completing my first game (discarding the retro games). She is a symbolic villain that I never met. She is the villain I failed to kill just because I lacked the insight to find her. I most likely didn’t deserve to meet her the first time because I’d end up unprepared and unable to appreciate the art of the game as a whole. Parasite Eve will have a special place in me.

Long story short, always revisit every nook and cranny of the game you finished or trying to finishing to make sure you never miss an Easter egg or a great event.


Sources: 1234



Steem Gaming Community

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SteemArtistsBanner_smllSquished-NOTAGLINE.png

Sort:  

Congratulations Steemian! Because you have created excellent content, you have received an upvote from us!

We represent STEEMPUNK-NET, the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. Meet other Clockwork Fighters our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena and test your skills against other Steemians.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

Your outstanding gaming content has caught our eyes and is rewarded with an upvote. Please visit our page @steemgg to learn more about Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem Blockchain.

@SteemEHQ

Upvoted and resteemed by Steem Entertainment Headquarters.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

yeaaah...
I have the same thing for MGS (Metal Gear Solid) PS1
I dont fck with the versions after that
the pixelated view fits so well with the mimetic characteristic of the game it also add to the roughness and mysterious identity of solid snake ...of course I came with this observation years after and it only added my love for it

Ohhhh I remember that game. Never played it but my dad loved the game that he spent hours on it (he's not even a gamer in the conventional sense). The game didn't appeal to me before, probably during my early stages of having preference for a specific genre. Looking back, wished I did started the series.

dont go for the series if you can play just mgs1...
gamecube did its version with higher definition than ps1 but still I love the low definition more, never played the gamecube version...
I must say that at first impression and from the cover I wasn't attracted at all, it looked like just another mediocre game...I was in for the treat that changed my life in gaming...
till now no other tops it: story, message, morals, interactive experience, sounds, effects, voices, characters, physics, ...
ur father is a legend!! :P

I didn't completely finish PE1 either, but I was content in watching gameplay videos. I envy what you experienced while replaying it, but I'm not that kind of gamer anymore.

but I was content in watching gameplay videos

I'm more on the story side. I just watch cutscenes of games I can't afford to play because the reason I play is for the story. But if I had the means to purchase and play the game, I wouldn't mind spending countless hours on it.

What kind of gamer have you turned into?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Adamada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 211 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi, @adamada!

You just got a 2.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42