You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TUTORIAL: Undervolting: Simple Tweaking of your laptop to enhance performance and endurance

in #archdruid6 years ago

Double-whammy these days.

Right out of the box, CPU performance is already degraded because of, or from patching against, the Spectre/Meltdown vulnerabilities.

I rarely overclock anymore and am happy with stock speeds, burst rates and Wraith Coolers (again stock) of my Ryzens.

Excellent article.

Namaste, JaiChai

Sort:  

Yeah, those vulnerabilities sucked... Although, I have to say, I don't notice too much impact on day to day computing... Even while gaming. On the other hand, I'm not tracking any stats or fps so I wouldn't know if I was taking a hit!

I don't bother with overcooking either, as stock is plenty good enough these days at the mid to high end. However, undervolts are definitely worth it in a laptop, when a game is running you can start to bump in the thermal constraints!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67