Aquaponics Setup and System Design

in #aquaponics6 years ago (edited)

Hi,
Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Robbie Olson. I am new to the Steem community so please bear with me as I learn the ropes.

In 2008 I walked away from a home building career and have been on a journey of discovery ever since.
This Journey started with my fascination with tesla and his electrical physics. I began doing experiments, soon those experiments led to quantum physics, electrical magnetic experimentation, biological interactions with electromagnetics, energy generation, and more.
Then, while looking for ways to be more self-reliant, I found myself delving into processed food, pharmaceuticals, and related subjects. This ultimately led to years of study and hands on experience with aquaponics.
I became very frustrated during those years because much of the information I was finding left me woefully uninformed. I built system after system and had crashes with everything lost many times. I read books, and took multiple online courses, yet there was nothing out there that was actually SOLVING any of my problems. Nearly everything was just rearrangement of the same old things that failed once before, or was attempts at patching up a failing system. The underlying causes of these failures were never directly addressed.
I eventually DID find the answers I needed, but not in any aquaponics book, video, or course.
Done correctly aquaponics can give us explosive growth of plants and fish, WITHOUT ALL OF THE PITFALLS seen with many systems common on the web. Once I had learned the machinery of how and why aquaponics works in certain ways and doesn’t work in other ways, I felt compelled to write a book of my own. I am astonished, even to this day, how little of the essential information is actually taught, even at college levels on aquaponics.
Aquaponics offers us the opportunity to begin the process of reversing some of the damage being done to our food supply through modern farming methods. We can become less dependent on the food trucks that run just in time to keep the shelves at the supermarket full. We can have nutrient rich food, grown organically with no harmful pesticides. I have even seen food allergy reversals from eating home grown organic food.
Nature has some beautiful machinery for us to work with. All we have to do is KNOW how to use it to our advantage.

I am currently in the middle of moving my operation to a 40 acre farm where I can expand out with as many systems as I want. When I rebuild in early 2019 I will be offering classes and hands on training. If you think you may be interested in taking the classes or purchasing my book, please contact me, I will put you on a list and notify you when they are available.

Anyways, I will post more in the near future. In the mean time here are some pics of my actual system in use.

IMG_1572.jpg

IMG_1580.jpg

IMG_20180225_160036.jpg

IMG_20180418_120332.jpg

IMG_20180411_185722.jpg

IMG_1581.jpg

cover page3.jpg

Sort:  

Very Cool!!!!

So glad you're on here brother! this is Greg my username is @makinstuff on here. Great post! you can add the tag introduceyourself if you edit the post here. I will broadcast to more people with that tag I think.

Great to have you on steemit. Looking forward to reading more about your Aquaponics set up.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Welcome to steemti @robbieolson! Glad to have you here. There's a lot of potential for sharing and connecting and the community of folks interested in sharing Earth based info is growing steadily.

Happy to have you hear and it seems like you have great deal of technical info to share, I'd be interested in your book.

My partner and i are finishing a 30x48 high tunnel and are exploring all the ways to make use of the sheltered space, aquaponics may factor in.

Awesome, I will definitely let you know when the book get published.. In the mean time let me know if you have any questions or anything, I will do my best to give you an answer.

So glad you have brought your journey here to Steem !

Welcome to Steemit! There is a need for Aquaponics information on this platform!

Keep on posting, and have fun! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97