Aquaponics Garden Build with Rainbow trout and leafy vegetables, Part 2.

Hey everyone. So here we have the system mature growing, thriving, fish jumping and happy, Aquaponics doesn't get any better than this. These pics are about a month after initial planting and setup... They really do grow incredibly fast in aquaponics systems, almost too fast to believe. The water is a crystal clear unfathomable yet comparable to the freshest of mountain water. Stunning..

I am all for experimentation in aquaponics. Probably not the best idea but I tried beetroot in the NFT system it worked, albeit I needed to remove early as the pipes in this system really were only meant for leafy vegetables.

aquaponicscannabix.jpg

Below a pic of the full system. This was an NFT/Ebb and Flow hybrid which worked really well. A general overview of the stunning lush green as well as the rainbow trout swimming and happy.... (the gravel and bell siphon) top left is the EBB and Flow part of the system which is the last point of circulation before re-entering the main fish tank.

aquaponics mary.jpg

A close up of the trout just look at that crystal clear water and those robust 'bad boys' Trout really is such an exciting fish to keep. They need really low temperature water and fast flowing/highly oxygenated at all times.

10959831_358647520985450_4137845894296240648_n.jpg

I forgot to post this pic on the last post.. During the manufacture process, filling with water just after lining is a good idea as it helps the plastic sit in position nicely.

1622734_301750473341822_2907900083736685290_n.jpg

Full system pic from another angle. At this point the pipes are just about no longer visible, just a wall of delicious green vegetables right out my back door. What a blessing.

10424248_335573526626183_1302298819156761752_n.jpg

Feeding time. Trout are veracious eaters and will take just about any meat, insects, larvae etc. I fed these 42% high protein pellets which they loved. Feeding time is big competition for them and they will regularly breach the water surface so be careful to always watch closely and build a system with lids as they will certainly jump if not.

10372006_316582591858610_4687428994465297029_n00.jpg

I will be posting Part 3 tomorrow where I'll focus on the harvesting from the system.

Have a super Thursday. Thanks a million for following. I really do hope that my aquaponics knowledge can assist you in getting started and on your way to healthier, sustainable, cost effective, happier off grid living and a generally more contented lifestyle.

Cheer$:)

Sort:  

That system is looking Good Craig, thinking of something like it myself maybe next year, regards Gez....

Nice post you need to keep up this good work. You should check out this service they are really great

WhaleBoostUp Resteem and Upvote Service / www.whaleboostup.ml

wow! what a combination amazing! I loved it❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ .i`ll try it too

Cheer$:) appreciate that any assistance that is needed let me know I will gladly help you out. Aquaponics is my passion.

thumbnail_20171023_145726.jpg

sorry i had slow internet connection i thought upvote is done but it wasn`t but here it is!

Awesome job! Very interesting stuff thanks for sharing.

Could you put multiple varieties of fish in the same system provided the tanks are big enough? Say, trout and catfish in a swimming pool size tank?

Hey bro .. well that would depend on many factors.. Trout are top feeders cold water , catfish as far as I know warmer water, bottom feeders for sure.. As long as they are the same size as I know they are both predators never tried that would be interesting... But probably not the best combination. I don't think water temps would be compatible I think catfish are more tropical? I know trout like it cold. The colder the better.. Hope this helps? What I can tell you .. is it would be an interesting face off. Catfish with that big mouth slow and sluggish as they are... Would probably take this one.. Cheer$:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56849.09
ETH 2508.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32