Can I just say that dealing with chestnuts is not exactly the most fun task in the ...

in #appics5 years ago

... world, which I’m sure any of you who’ve done it would agree with me.

They’re just sort of high maintenance compared to what you get from them. However, I really like using them and I’ve gotta say I’ve dealt with much worse ingredients in my food blogging past so it’s not too bad to mess with them a few times a year. Plus, you all know how much I love to get into themes and stuff, and come on, chestnuts and Christmastime go together like pb&j! Am I right? Am I right????

Okay, but aside from the chestnuts, this soup is a breeze to make and it has so many of the flavors that I love about the holiday season. I really wanted to get the chestnut flavor in there so I added quite a bit.

--Creamy Roasted Chestnut Potato Soup (Vegan+GF)--
Warm things up tonight with this hearty and delicious soup that makes a great use of the roasted chestnuts.

Prep Time 20 minutes
Cook Time 1 hour
Total Time 1 hour 20 minutes
Servings 6 - 8 servings

--Ingredients--
6 cloves garlic minced
1 medium onion diced
2 medium apples peeled and finely diced
4 stalks celery finely chopped
1 pound about 3 medium red skin potatoes, washed and cut into cubes
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary roughly chopped
1 tablespoon fresh sage leaves roughly chopped
8 cups vegetable stock
2/3 cup coconut cream *see note
2 tablespoons flour or arrowroot starch for gluten free
2 cups shelled roasted chestnuts
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

--Instructions--
In a large, wide-topped pot or dutch oven add the garlic, onion, celery, apples, potatoes, rosemary, and sage. and cook over medium high heat. Pour in about 1/4 cup of vegetable broth and cook for 7 to 8 minutes, stirring very often, until the potatoes are just starting to soften. Pour in the rest of the broth, then cover pot with lid and bring to a boil.

Chop the chestnuts into small pieces and add to the pot when it starts to boil. Remove lid, reduce heat to medium low, and boil uncovered for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are very soft.
Whisk the cream and flour together in a small bowl or glass until smooth, then stir it into the soup.
Continue stirring continuously until the soup starts to thicken. Season to taste with salt and pepper then remove from heat and allow it to cool off just a little bit before serving.

--Recipe Notes--
If you have trouble finding coconut cream at your local grocery store it's completely fine to use full-fat coconut milk and scrape the cream off of the top. Just be sure that it's cold enough to separate.

029774f5e441455fd0fb09036992114a

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

I'm certain you are too young to know of what I am writing about, but I'll ask anyway, just in case you have seen a recipe.

Until 35 years ago, I used to buy a tube (like with toothpaste) of chestnut puree with vanilla. I used it for making myself pavlova cakes, using the puree plus pieces of roasted chestnut. All my family would ask for one for their birthday cake...even if I am not invited :)

The tube came from France and about 35 years ago my supermarket stopped stocking it. Since then I have been restricted to making Raspberry pavlovas as I cnnot get my chestnuts to puree into the right flavour.

I have not seen a recipe for it - have you? If yes, please post it.

Thanks.

(PS: This is about the only non-chocolate pastry I eat...apart from baked custard.)

Oh, how I know that frustration when a favorite product goes out of stock. I will look through old recipes for anything similar.

Thank you

I think i would hate this soup. But it looks amazing wheheh

I love your optimism, lol.

You always share the most delicious dishes with us! Sometime in the future we have to cook together with the whole APPICS team!

Omg, how cool would that be! Thanks for the comment my friend!

Thanks for bringing in this kind of sweet delicious 😋 meal. #respect

I really appreciate it!

I can promise you... If I try to make that it would not nearly as delicious as the way yours look xD nicely done

I know you could make it as well, but I do appreciate the compliment. :)

Lol! "High Maintenance Nut" is a perfect term for them. Though I find most in-shell nuts to be a bit tedious. Soup looks like a perfect winter dish.

They really are though, haha. Thanks my friend!

so delisios

It looks fantastic. I hope I could eat someday some of your dishes

It looks fantastic.
I hope I could eat someday
Some of your dishes

                 - vladikras


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Best bot on Steem <3

Longest post ever on appics :D It looks yummmm Toriiii

Haha, I think you're right. Thanks my sweet!

All we ever did was roast them and eat the nit meat. 👊🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89