You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pleasure of doing nothing.

in #appics5 years ago

Dude, that view is perfect.

I admire your discipline in taking yourself away from screens, and ultimately, stress.

Screens (and communication that way) are (sadly) so intrinsic to my video work and family life. I can’t imagine a day where I’m not connected to what’s going on at home with my family in some way or another, but I wish that wasn’t always the case!

I’ll aim to follow in your footsteps though, and be mindful of opportunities where I can disconnect to recharge.
The irony.

I must say I’m currently experiencing an period of inspiration fatigue - perhaps burnt out, uninspired, a bit humdrum.

Great to see that you’re both working hard and relaxing in good measure my friend!
Ace to see younposting.

Sort:  

I know! Was just blown away by it every minute. I wasn't always good at it, but I soon realized how necessary it is for me in order to produce at the top level. So I've made it a habit, and time-lock periods in the day that are dedicated to not looking at screens! :P

I can relate to how it still is and feels like an essential part. For me, I've had to look for substitutes. I now set aside time to answer emails, and write content for my blog and for our business that I do 95% through voice-to-text recording, including all my posts through Appics recently. This way, I can do things that previously required me to sit in front of a screen while going for a walk with the dog instead (it still takes a few minutes editing the final text in Google Docs on the PC, but 95% is already done through voice).

I think a systematic approach to building up the day around health and fitness first, to enable better work, is essential not only for ones own well-being, but also for productivity and thus ultimately success.

I encourage you to give it a go! And don't hesitate to ask if you want some advice :). I've been nerding this subject a lot to find out what could work the best for me recently! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51