ANZAC Day - 25th April - what it means to me

in #anzac6 years ago

What does this annual commemoration mean to me?


author: Laurence Binyon (1869-1943), an ode from his poem For The Fallen
image source

Those words never fail to create a lump in my throat, as I begin to imagine the sheer volume of losses that occurred at Anzac Cove (although the poem wasn't referring to this particular event; in fact it was written earlier, in 1914).

Each year, just before ANZAC Day, all around NZ we see the distinctive red poppies (in paper form) available at fundraising tables for the RSA (Returned Services' Association). A history on this symbol can be read about here.

Also on this day, as a national sign of respect, NZ has long maintained a law of restricted retail shopping hours - whereby non-exempted stores are not allowed to open for business until 1pm on the 25th.
The one thing guaranteed to get me riled is a greedy retail store opening during ANZAC morning, and those shoppers who cannot wait until after 1pm to shop in them!

There have been many, many things written, filmed, photographed, etc about what happened, and so that is not what I want to focus on here. You can read down the timeline of events for that day here to get some perspective.

I was lucky in that I did not lose any close relatives in this campaign, but as a genealogist, whenever I do come across information on military personnel (or families of) who lost their lives during the war, I have great sympathy for them and yet can only begin to imagine the sheer horror of being smack-dab in the middle of the fighting - let alone the horrible conditions they had to live in.

I admire any and all who signed up, regardless of my personal feelings about war in general. I feel blessed and thankful that my family lives in a time (so far, at least) where it hasn't been necessary for anyone to be called-up to defend our country. Knowing my child was away and in the middle of a war zone would absolutely terrify me, and I can empathise greatly with all the families were left who waiting for word about their loved ones overseas during the Gallipoli campaign - and indeed the whole of WWI (and II).

I only hope that this project I started goes a small way to helping commemorate this important day, and I humbly thank all those other people on Steemit who also contributed to such a worthy cause. I urge you to read each and every wonderful post.

enter image description here
image source


I researched and wrote about twelve people involved in the Gallipoli campaign, the links to which I have listed below. I hope to do more next year, and each year after that. The blockchain is the perfect place to cement these oft-Unsung Heroes into their place in history.

As a genealogist it wasn't easy to constrain myself to not going off and researching each person's larger family tree! But I tried.

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-archibald-ferguson

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-william-john-calder

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-the-gray-boys

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-robert-edward-kelly

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-bertie-william-bentley-shaw

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-bergh-brothers

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-herbert-clyde-evans

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-john-joseph-wass

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-the-begg-brothers

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-george-robert-paterson

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-christopher-gorvett-clement-veitch

https://steemit.com/anzac/@ravenruis/anzac-the-westrupp-family-of-soldiers


ravenruis.png

banner2.png

Sort:  

Thank you for inspiring all of us to take part. It's been so interesting and a bit sad to read about everyone featured in posts today.

aww thanks. It was very much my pleasure. I would like to thank you back for helping to drive and promote this project in the Aussie camp. So very much appreciated. >3

I always begin to feel so attached to the people I research, its like we begin to know them so personally, and in some ways they come alive again however briefly.

I probably need a research-addiction intervention at some point ...


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Great job on getting those 12 profiles up on the blockchain.

Thanks. I didn't think it would take so long, but there is a cooling-down period.

I'm glad now I stopped at 12!

Congratulations @ravenruis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

The ANZAC posting was a success and it was thanks to your efforts to begin with the get everyone excited. Since you’ve done 12, I’m going to randomize pick one to read!

Thanks @ravenruis it has been a huge contribution from yourself. A very inspiring effort to make so many great posts to honour our ANZACs.

It was a real project of love.

Thank you for both your wonderful contribution and your support. It was fantastic how so many got behind it. :)

I really don't like caption comments particularly, but @ravenruis, this and all the similar posts this week, BRILLIANT, well said. Thank-you.
Keep on keeping on. 😇
Resteemed.

Thank you for your supportive comments, as always. :)

I'd love to get sound copies of your last few histories, NZ. I have listened to alot of 60's but haven't recognized these names. Maybe some of the music. But then, NZ antipodean, ai¿ 😊

The deeper I dig the more surprises I find. :)

--Until I emigrated, I had no idea my grandfather had spent so much time here in Australia. It was later enquiries to old family members that brought me stories, not told to children, ai¿

When I moved to a part of the country I thought had no family connection .... ta-da! lol it really is amazing just what can be found, and that it can be so personally connected. :D

Try thinking about 'Karma'. That's mind-boggling, that the universe can turn up serendipity to the nth degree, and meeting persons with whom you might have a short or long time with, to balance one's past actions, this or an earlier time. 😂

Oh, I know. It is always amazing to be a part of that and actually aware of it. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77