I Went Skydiving and My Life has Never Been the SamesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #anxiety7 years ago

aviator-145469_640.png

Growing up I never thought much about fear. It never got in my way. Just face the challenges before you and try for the best results was my attitude. That all changed in my late 20's.

I WENT SKYDIVING

My girlfriend talked me and another couple into jumping out of a perfectly good plane.

The day went smoothly enough. We took the safety course at the airport, signed away our lives thru release after release and suited up. It was all so uneventful. Twenty minute plane ride up to 12k feet, hook up to my jump mate and off we went.

Falling out of that plane changed my life. I've never stopped falling.

I'm actually having a tough time typing this. Reliving that event makes me terribly anxious.

We landed perfectly. The view was jaw dropping. The airport was only a few miles from the ocean.

The change in me from this event seemed to take place quite slowly at the time, but in hindsight it happened at light speed.

I was no longer a fast driver. I couldn't, and still can't, tolerate speed. Highways and bridges are terribly difficult to drive on, even as a passenger. I know every non-highway road in the state of NJ. It takes me double the travel time to cover significant distances.

The last time I drove on a highway was work related and I was forced to take a client to the airport. What a nightmare. You best believe that I took the secondary roads on the way home.

The last couple of times I flew I thought I would go mad or die from fear. My hands go numb. It feels like all oxygen has left the cabin. I don't know that I will fly again.

Seeing a picture of someone standing on a mountain ledge puts me on edge, at this point. I can't stop falling in my own mind. I'll find myself cruising along in the car and envision that tightrope walker that tried the Manhattan skyline and fell. All of a sudden I'm out of control with anxiety.

stamp-895385_640.png

Having been a fairly normal guy for the first 30 years of my life, it is hard for people that have known me to accept that this is happening to me. I've been accused of being lazy for not wanting to travel. I'm told to just get over it. That highways are safer than 2 lane roads. People don't understand my plight. Rather blame me for me issues.

My wife isn't certain what to do with me. She try's her best to be understanding. Yet I know she is often frustrated with this enormous hurdle of mine. She has stuck with me for nine years.

I have gone to psychologists. They want me to relax and pretend I'm driving, listening to tapes in their offices. I have read book after book. To no avail. I attempt to meditate. I excercise. I do yoga.

This anxiety is eventually going to kill me I don't know what to do about it. Time doesn't heal. It has only made the problem worse.

I keep putting my best foot forward and take my time the best I can. Thankfully I can still get in my car and drive. I avoid whatever triggers I can. I can get to a job, as long as it's not too far away. Hopefully I can find some success on Steemit and not even need to commute any more!

I am a fullblown scaredycat and I can't stop falling.

That was very hard to write.

I thank @scaredycatguide for inspiring me to write this blog.

Image source: pixabay.com

Bonnie's 35th Birthday (2).png

Sort:  

Wow, man. That is intense that one event triggered such anxiety. Almost like PTSD from jumping out of a plane.

It almost sounds like it threw your equilibrium out of balance, being that meditation, therapy, etc. are not working for you. Normally I am a big mind of matter person, but maybe you are just out of balance.

I'm going to share a story with you that I do not share with many. I don't know if it will help, but feel like it is something to share with you.

I was in tower 2 on 9/11. I was fresh out of college working my first job at Morgan Stanley, we occupied 30 something floors in that building.

I saw the fire raining down on the streets form 61 floors up when the first tower got hit. I felt the impact of the plane that hit our building shortly after, just a few floors above my head. I watched people cling to the railings as the stairwell swayed 60 floors up. I was one of them.

Thankfully I walked away from that day unharmed.

It took sometime to really register it, I mean really process it internally. But it wasn't something that caused me fear or anxiety or ptsd. It actually did the opposite.

I was always a scaredycat and got nervous about even trivial things. The experience made me realize you can only control what you can control.

And there is always a silver lining. People think I'm cynical because my thought is- god forbid something happened to me that day, at least I wouldn't have to work another 30 years!

Maybe I'm just weird. Death doesn't seem to be an issue with me. I get more anxiety from trying to go up to a pretty girl at the bar.

I refuse to let limiting beliefs dictate my life. I don't know what thoughts go through your head when you are driving or getting on a plane. But just know, they are limiting beliefs, because they are in fact limiting you from doing whatever you desire to do.

The cause of those beliefs is the conundrum though. It could be a shift in chemical balance since that skydive, it could just be a subconscious shift in view that you don't even consciously know happened. Either way though it is limiting.

I'm sorry to hear you are dealing with this my friend. Continue to stay pro-active about it. Remember, the only thing standing in our way is ourselves.

I appreciate you telling that story. "The sense of infinity" is what I call it. I have trouble driving on a highway due to it's appearance of infinite road, while I can drive the same speed on a back country road without fear.

Strangely enough, things like talking to strangers or public speaking, I have no problem with.

Hard to explain. The workings of the mind aren't always easy to control. I'm working more with meditation and it has been aiding me with calming my mind.

Thank you.

My first time was out of the back of a C-123 Hercules... a perfectly functional aircraft. The Jump Master saw me hesitate and asked: "Don't want to jump?" I looked at him and before you knew it- he pushed me out! I didn't have a jump mate.

That's always fun, being thrown out of a plane.

After I did it that first time and saw that it was possible to do without dying- it wasn't that bad (I'm a 5 jump chump) I got my wings! What was really hairy (pucker factor 10) was rappelling out of a chopper into triple canopy jungle with people shooting at you!

That sounds like hell rappelling out of a chopper, into live fire.

Much easier at 19 than 71 ;P

Everything is easier at 19.

I flew on P3 orions in the military. I could hang out the door and toss search and rescue rafts and supplies to the people that needed them ..no problem. While I was stationed in Hawaii I went skydiving.... no problem. But... If you put me on a bridge and say "Your gonna bungee jump off of this" I will fight you like a crazy person to get away from the edge. If I'm really high up, there's some kind of disconnect. If I am just a couple hundred feet above the ground, I can't take it. The end result if you fall is not any different. The mind is a very strange thing.

Scott, what did me in was the free fall. Low heights aren't a problem so much. The mind is a strange thing. Something about the infinity of 12k feet.

My true, overwhelming fear is public speaking. No bodily harm associated with it, but it scares the s#!t out of me.

Funny enough, I can speak in front of a crowd, no problem. I used to run golf outings at a club, I would get on a mic and welcome groups of 250 people, on a daily basis.

The mind is a funny thing.

I have had anxiety for some years, but it's okay now. What I did what not try to resist it, but really feel it. Just siit with the horrible feeling and really feel it. If you just try and and sit with it, it will eventually fade away, because you are in a way observing the feeling and not identifying with it. Hope it helped.

I appreciate the advice Arsenal

I enjoyed reading your post, so I thought I would leave a reply :)

Beautiful and honest post. Thank you.

Congratulations @wakeupsheeps! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83