You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Went Skydiving and My Life has Never Been the Same

in #anxiety7 years ago

I flew on P3 orions in the military. I could hang out the door and toss search and rescue rafts and supplies to the people that needed them ..no problem. While I was stationed in Hawaii I went skydiving.... no problem. But... If you put me on a bridge and say "Your gonna bungee jump off of this" I will fight you like a crazy person to get away from the edge. If I'm really high up, there's some kind of disconnect. If I am just a couple hundred feet above the ground, I can't take it. The end result if you fall is not any different. The mind is a very strange thing.

Sort:  

Scott, what did me in was the free fall. Low heights aren't a problem so much. The mind is a strange thing. Something about the infinity of 12k feet.

My true, overwhelming fear is public speaking. No bodily harm associated with it, but it scares the s#!t out of me.

Funny enough, I can speak in front of a crowd, no problem. I used to run golf outings at a club, I would get on a mic and welcome groups of 250 people, on a daily basis.

The mind is a funny thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95