Found some cool stuff at "Relics" in Springfield, MO today.

in #antiques6 years ago (edited)

First of all, this place is HUGE! When we pulled into the parking lot, @jazzyfish and I said to each other, "We'll stop in here for 20 minutes or so, then head to the other flea market we really want to go to."
NOPE! We walked in and it was like walking into a flea market version of a Walmart Supercenter:

photo by Mark Farbin (source)

^^^And that's only half the store! The other half is off of frame-right and behind the camera.

The biggest reason I come to flea markets is to look for vintage cameras or other film-related stuff. Or just anything cool in general. Today, I found quite a few cameras, as well as a treasure trove of vintage photos of mystery people.

As I trailed along through the market, @jazzyfish did the same and photographed her own findings, which can be found in her post about it here.

One of the first things we noticed almost immediately upon walking in was the scattered collection of vintage photos. This place had an abundance of them.






They also had this 35mm movie in reels that I was pretty interested in, but not for the $188 price they were asking for it.

Here is the collection of camera stuff I found. If I'd had any money to play with, I probably would've picked up at least one of these, although a camera i more attractive to me if I know I can actually use it.






And to finish it off, here's a couple of "cameras" which are complete ripoffs. I found it funny this place had them at all.

That is absolutely not a Canon on the right. It's not even a good ripoff of a real Canon. Some Taiwanese company called "New Taiwan Photo Corp." just slapped Canon's name on their crappy plastic thing they're trying to call a camera. The "Olympia" on the left is a poor attempt at faking an Olympus. The "lenses" don't come off of either unit, and are touted as being "focus free optical lenses", meaning there's no focusing mechanism. It's almost just a glorified pinhole camera if not for the el-cheapo plastic bead they call a "lens". They seriously wanted $50 for each of them. lol

They also have a restaurant called "The Tea Room At Relics", which we intend to order from the next time we visit.

We ended up having to leave before we were completely satisfied with looking at everything, so we have plans to return soon - maybe tomorrow - as well as to visit other flea markets in the area in the coming days/weeks. Hopefully I'll have some funds to throw at items I find by then.

To learn about the #wwtop5pix initiative,
PLEASE CLICK HERE.

Sort:  

I think I had that Vivitar camera. Looks like fun shopping.

I think everyone had a Vivitar at one point. lol They were sold in all the cheapest places for the cheapest prices. Surprised I didn't find more of them, honestly. I think we're going back this morning and scouting out the whole places from one end to the other. Maybe I can find some cheap thing to buy and show off.

I'm still waiting to find a picaso at the goodwill thrift store.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=winstonwolfe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=found-some-cool-stuff-at-relics-in-springfield-mo-today


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I am surprised that the knock-off cameras are still around... Figured they would have been thrown in the trash when people found out that they had been ripped off.

Back when I worked at a camera store, we used to see these every now and then. To give it some weight, they'd even put in some big chunks of lead that served no other purpose.

Wow, that's shady! I can imagine someone being upset to find a big piece of lead after carrying that thing around on vacation somewhere.

Such an interesting store! If I'm ever in MO I'm gonna have to stop there. I love the old photos. Old photos always just mesmerize me. The Boy Scouts camera was very interesting too. Usually anything to do with the Boy Scouts sells and sells well. I agree that the movie film was way too high. Love seeing your posts of your adventures! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30