🌻Collections: Order Within Disarray 🌻

in #antiques6 years ago

disorder cover.jpg

Happy Hump Day Steemians! I always wondered what the origin of Hump Day was, and I just looked it up - different than what I thought (get yer mind out of the gutter, Mew Mew!)

hump day
The middle of a work week (Wednesday); used in the context of climbing a proverbial hill to get through a tough week.

Wednesday. Middle of the week. The rest of the week towards friday is a downhill ride.

Hehe, definitely not what I thought, but moving swiftly on! Today's post is all about collections. Collections of beautiful things, collections of valuable items to be reused, and collections of pieces that I have curated in displays at my shop. I have a lot of fun designing the different areas, and deciding which items to put where to create the look I want.


First - the collections of STUFF that just lies around my shop. It may look chaotic, but I promise that if you ask any of the team in the workshop, they will know exactly where something is.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-19 at 16.24.30 (6).jpeg

These are vintage brass castings, which we buy on the markets in Europe. We use them to make the waterfall and neoclassical chandeliers.

Here you can see one of the small little waterfalls my team created out of these brass castings. Amazing right!

R2850.JPG


This may look like a bunch of crap, but it's actually the bulb holders that fit inside the arms of the chandeliers, where the bulbs actually connect to the electrical wires. I just liked playing around with the black and white filter in Photoshop, I thought it was quite fitting for this image

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-19 at 16.34.18 (4).jpeg


The crazy space that is our workshop. These lights need be restored, reused or recycled. There are some hidden beauties up there; every now and then, I will spot an exceptionally special antique light that we have all forgotten about and we will get it down and refurb it. Sometimes, some really gorgeous lights come out of this process.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-19 at 16.34.46 (2).jpeg

Here's the passage space that I curated a little while ago. This and the image in my cover at the top of this post were both inspired by chaos. I wanted to just mix and match antiques with new pieces, taxidermy with luxe golden mirrors, and I loved the juxtaposition of the golds and silvers against the rich royal blue paint on the walls.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-19 at 16.34.18 (8).jpeg

I hope you've enjoyed this little peek into my daily life - I often spend hours sorting out those messy drawers by the way!

I'll leave you with this video of Megalomaniac by Incubus. I am so excited cuz I will be seeing them live next week Wednesday. Woot!

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

This is best post on steemit 😂 #notabot

ahhh, you're the best post on Steemit!

(you'd make a cool bot )

You've got some nice stuff in your shop. The thing that cought my eye is that red medival looking lantern on the last photo. Mixing antiques with the new stuff is a good idea it gives the shop a cool vibe.

Ah yeah, that is a really gorgeous light. When the sun shines through it, it is so pretty!

It’s so good to see you here , thank you so much x

Amazing stuff in your shop @princessmewmew 🌻

Those messy drawers😜.

hahaha! tell me about it, man!

Wonderful post. Nice work.

Well you have added to my vocabulary. Good content. Comment. thanks a lot.

Ok,those vintage kind of antiques are really cool,definitly could add more value and the beauty to surroundings of it.my personal favourite would be the colorful glass chandelier looks like a disco ball.

yeah, i love that one! We bought it in Indonesia, actually :)

Continued to merit follow-up and encouragement
UpVote for you as little as we can encourage you
Continue your wonderful publications 🖒

this are beautiful lantern you indeed should have credit on the shot

Very nice collection
I want to have it @princessmewmew :)

thanks so much! One day maybe you can!

yeah, I hope :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52