๐Ÿ˜ ANTIQUE LADIES SEWING TABLE - WOW EDITION TWO! ๐Ÿ˜

in #antiques โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

Hi Steem Fam! It's been a really exciting week here at my antiques store. You may remember the Collector's Cabinet I wrote about last week. In keeping with all the drawers and exciting purchases, I decided to write about this BEAUTIFUL Ladies Sewing Table I bought on Friday for the shop.


When I saw it, I just knew I had to buy it for my shop. Sometimes I get a really strong gut instinct to buy something, and it usually sells relatively quickly. I have learnt to trust these feelings and go with my intuition. Something just says, this is really special. This was one of those pieces โœจโœจ

1100 x 1050 x 450 (open); 110 x 650 x 450 (closed) - R13800 (7).JPG

I am absolutely in love with it! It's definitely Victorian, so way over 100 years old.

Did You Know that an item must 100 years old or older to be classed as antique, and 50 years or older to be classed as vintage?!

1100 x 1050 x 450 (open); 110 x 650 x 450 (closed) - R13800 (2).JPG1100 x 1050 x 450 (open); 110 x 650 x 450 (closed) - R13800 (4).JPG

It's interesting though, there are a lot of Asian influences on the piece. The mother of pearl inlays, the little Japanese people in the inlays, and the fact that it is Rosewood, which usually comes out of India and Asia. I'm sure it has a really interesting past, and the sad thing is that we will never know it!

1100 x 1050 x 450 (open); 110 x 650 x 450 (closed) - R13800 (3).JPG

It has so many little compartments and nooks, perfect for all the ladies' threads, buttons and embroidery silks. Damn! Takes me a year to finish knitting a scarf. LOL

Hope you enjoyed this look into my daily life, Steem Fam!

1100 x 1050 x 450 (open); 110 x 650 x 450 (closed) - R13800 (5).JPG

This is my last post before HF20. I kinda feel like it's Y2K again. See y'all on the flip side!

footer.png

Sort: ย 

Its gorgeous, i wish i had a bigger house as i would love to have items like this. Love a beautiful antique. Would love to know where its been and who with :)

me too! I think that's part of the wonder with antiques - their story!

I have had pieces with a story, and it makes them so much more interesting and sale-able

xx
thanks for dropping in!

Nothing better than rummaging through an antique shop. :)

My favourite!

thats was a cool sewing machine if my Grandmother saw it,she would really love it..my Grandma raise me up by way of sewing..

thanks for sharing and God Bless.

Ah thatโ€™s so lovely! My granny also loved sewing, she actually taught me to knit xxx

wow..thats was great to know a little bit about sewing,it's fun to sew..

OMG! I love it! I want it! It is soooo me!!!!! Wow.

She sighs

It is so amazing right?! Itโ€™s sold now!

Wow, @princessmewmew, this would be such an amazing make up or craft table. So lovely.

Here I am , five days later, voting your post. And that is because today is the first day I have even done a proper post and am trying to go about and upvote again. I'm not sure how mana works or how many votes I can do, so I'm trying it at around 40% to start.

I hope we are getting our Steemit back! I haven't even been on adsactly discord that often. I miss the structure of it all.

I am also still catching up. It was nice to have a break but I missed my Steem Fam! ๐Ÿ’œ

I love antiques and Victotian pieces are among my favorites. This is a truly exquisite find, and looks like it is in phenomenal condition!
Where is your shop located?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi! We are in Woodstock, Cape Town. It is in amazing condition, such a find!

Yeah, a tad tough to pop over from Middle Tennessee to Cape Town, but a beautiful find indeed. ;-)

Very cool, think we should get one for the cats?

Will they knit us tiny scarves?

Wow, what an amazing find! You may want to keep this one for yourself. It is truly a masterpiece. Upvoted and resteemed.

@princessmewmew beautiful, I will send you my address lol lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29