You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🤩 Antique Collectors Cabinet 🤩 WOW EDITION 🤩

in #antiques6 years ago

Wow. That is so cool. I mean that is a really astounding piece.

My first thought was gems or stones. Stamps generally are in specially made books, but maybe insects. I wonder why the outside was made so plain? Religious requirements?

Thanks for sharing a just stupid cool piece.

Sort:  

I also wonder about the plainness, but I would say perhaps it was supposed to be a manly piece, and that leads me to think it was a manly profession... the piece is 1930’s so I had all kinds of thoughts about Architects etc in Egypt, but I am really not sure.

Hmmmmm. Good thought.

I didn't say my real first thought. One of my best buds parents were huge collectors of Native culture. They were tomb raiders looking back, but I was completely fascinated by their collection. This cabinet would have been perfect for their arrowhead collection. They ranged from teeny fish and small game (rabbits) to large 'man sized' items made of a wide variety of stones and bone. This cabinet could have been made for that collection.

I wonder if it held spectacles?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56263.97
ETH 2964.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18