What's in the Basement, A Childhood Dream Come True!

in #antique6 years ago (edited)

20180119_135948.jpg

I've always been an avid reader. Growing up, there was nothing more appealing than a good book to whisk me away on some grand adventure. When I was a young boy of eight or nine, my favorite reading subject was Daniel Boone.

20180117_212929.jpg

I read every book on Daniel that my library had. In my mind I was right next to him as he blazed new trails and explored the wilderness. My musket held at the ready in case we were attacked by a bear or mountain lion.

20180117_213704.jpg

So imagine my surprise when I went down into the basement storage at work and found an antique muzzle loaded musket, just like my old friend Daniel Boone used to carry.

20180119_135954.jpg

I don't know how old this gun is or anything about it's history, but you can still see the place where a former owner carved his initials in the stock.

20180119_140002.jpg

Of course, it came complete with a metal ramrod for tamping down the powder charge.

20180119_140026.jpg

Here's a quick view of the reverse side.

20180119_140054.jpg

And here is a close-up of the flintlock firing mechanism. You can see the frizzen and the priming pan which held the priming power that was ignited by sparks generated from the flint striking the frizzen. Once the powder in the pan ignited, the flame passed through the small hole in the barrel to the main powder charge and the gun discharged.

20180119_140553.jpg

Of course, you need a powder flask and a pouch with lead shot to complete your outfit.

20180130_084151.jpg

I wonder what interesting items I'll find next as I continue to explore What's in the Basement?

Until next time...

Proud member of @qurator! Click below to find out more about this fantastic Steemit community.

Sort:  

All you need is a raccoon hat and you could pose as a pioneer with that musket! Any kind of brand or insignia on the sides of the musket?

If I find a coon skin cap down there, I'll definitely pose for a selfie, Daniel Boone style.

I'd like to see a picture of you in a coonskin hat holding that musket.

Lol, don't hold your breath on that one.

Fascinating musket. I love old antiques like those pictured. I'm looking forward to seeing what else you find in the basement.

Well the boss is away today, so I may be making another voyage of discovery to the basement this afternoon. Maybe I'll find something interesting and have a new post soon.

What a great discovery Brother! And what a pleasure to have old memories ignited by such a find. What else might be hiding in the basement???

There are definitely more treasures hiding down there. Stay tuned to find out what I discover next.

just outstanding!! thanks

Thank you and thanks for your outstanding analysis of Bitcoin's price movements.

i wonder how much will be the price. that should be expensive.

I'm no expert, but a quick search turned up a couple similar looking muskets for sale for between two and three thousand dollars.

this post is fantastic and the pictures are awesome!!
To have your childhood dream realized is a really big deal.

Thank you! I was surprised and excited to find these treasures. When things are slow at work, I try to make up excuses to go to the basement so I can play with admire these antiques.

Its great post..
Good talent..
Keep on steem..

interesting to see that its unique one of a kind

Good to know about your old memories, This is vintage, I am wondering what all antiques you have in your basement..

Stay tuned, I'll be posting about more of the treasures I've uncovered in the basement.

My dream was like this. Thank you for reminding me of memories. My best wishes

I'm glad I could rekindle a fond memory for you also with my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65