What's In The Basement? A 100 Year Old Kitchen

in #antique6 years ago (edited)

This morning I snuck away from my desk at work again and went exploring in the basement to see what new treasures I could find. Just like that, I was transported back in time 100 years when I stumbled upon a couple of old kitchen appliances.

oven2.jpg

This antique gas stove was manufactured in Detroit, Michigan in the 1920's by the Detroit-Michigan Stove Company.

20180611_164544.jpg

It has all the modern conveniences of the time such as easy temperature control of the oven by this dial.

20180611_163705.jpg

Which in addition to displaying the set temperature, also listed different food dishes that you would typically cook at that temperature.

20180611_163656.jpg

There is a large baking oven, with slots for easy height adjustment of the wire shelves.

20180612_120331.jpg

And a smaller broiler and toasting oven below. Complete with wire shelves and a drip pan. Looks like it could use a good cleaning.

20180611_163802.jpg

The stove cook top has four individual burners.

20180611_163838.jpg

And a warming drawer below the cook top.

20180611_163817.jpg

What modern equipped kitchen in the 1920's would be complete without a state of the art ice box to keep your food from spoiling? Fortunately, our little time capsule has one of those also.

ice.jpg

Presenting the Icyco Refrigerator ice box!

20180611_164035.jpg

I found an advertisement for a Icyco Oak Refrigerator with three door style and 100 pound ice capacity for $27.50 in a magazine dated August 1918. Sounds similar to this one. It features a large compartment on the top to hold ice.

20180611_164046.jpg

20180611_164104.jpg

A well insulated main compartment to store your perishables, and a small door at the bottom for easy access to the drip pan to catch all that melting ice.

20180611_164130.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this little glimpse of the past. Join me again soon (when the Boss isn't looking) and I go exploring and find out What's In The Basement.

Until next time...

Proud member of @qurator! Click below to find out more about this fantastic Steemit community.

Sort:  

That stove is in amazing shape. I suggest you take it home and hide it for another 98 years. What an amazing example of history hiding in the basement!

I would certainly like to! Unfortunately, even though my boss may not notice if I'm away from my desk for a short period of time, he's sure to notice me carting out his antique stove.

I'm working on a mock up of you now.....we'll do "A weekend at Bernie's" in reverse and leave a look-a-like dummy at your desk and we'll go snooping through everybody's basements. I'll prep the film crews and get legal on top of this. Damn, this is gonna be a huge network success!
Um, never mind....the dog has asked me to play ball again......later Brother!

The important thing is to keep Candy (and @Anise of course) happy. First things first!

Now that I think about it, there is already a show on cable about pretty much the same thing, called "Pickers" or something.

Those certainly look a lot better than modern day appliances, if not a bit small. Too bad they don't make anything like that anymore.

They definitely made things a lot sturdier, and with more character, than they do now. But I wouldn't want to be constantly hauling blocks of ice in to keep that refrigerator cold.

You could easily make a fridge that looks like that with a condensor instead.

Wow you just found something cool great day in exploring that

Thanks! I did have a lot of fun finding these and doing a little research on them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50