Using Windows? Forget about privacy!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #anonimty6 years ago (edited)

- Why "My Computer" has been renamed to "This Computer" in Windows 10?
- Because since you upgraded to Windows 10 it's not your computer anymore!

Let's start with a story

I'm a fan of Linux OS, I'm using it for 5 years and I've never regretted it. But the lack of some programs on this platform, I still have to face with Windows too. And you know, I hate it. I just can't understand why Microsoft decided that they don't need users permission to restart and install an update? Sometimes I think they my notebook is lives by itself, thank God he cannot move.
Have you heard the saying - IE is just a one-time browser to download your favorite one? So, after the first boot of Windows, I've opened IE and searched "Firefox". Guess the first Bing's result? Mozilla.org? No, the first result was suggesting me to try IE. How could they have fallen so low? Even when I was changing my default browser to Firefox, it asked me to look at IE one more time...

Some may say, that it's ok, and Microsoft is trying to promote their product. No! That's not ok, this is a violation of the rules of the free Internet, no self-respecting IT company will afford such things. It seems they finally spit on the quality and just switched to aggressive marketing.

But let's talk about privacy

rsz_1maxresdefault.jpg
Not only Windows 10, 7 and 8 also spying on you :(

I told a bit about my experience, just to notice that Microsoft finally lost the moral principles. If they may try to force you to use their software, imagine how far they can go in terms of collecting your personal data. Just do a little bit research and you'll be shocked! They have your basic info, passwords, contacts your Skype calls and messages (and not only Skype's), they have access to your keyboard and microphone input, photos and videos. Everything is stored on their servers and you're paying for that.

I heard many stories, but the best one is how a guy wrote a message to a friend that he's going to take a vacation and immediately after that began to receive the advertisements of travel agencies.

It can be turned off

First - tracking must be turned off by default. Anyway, follow these steps to do the work of guys from Microsoft.

Second - "Privacy Settings" is just an illusion of control, you can't completely disable data collecting since it's built in the core of Windows. To protect yourself you should delete some updates and block some requests by the firewall (there is a good program for that). I'm not sure this may guarantee 100% protection, but hope this will complicate their lives :)

Conclusion

Hope this post will help someone to gain some privacy, and maybe someone will decide to take a closer look at the opensource software, it is not necessary to be a programmer to start using Linux, because there are already a lot of user-friendly distributions like Ubuntu and Fedora.

As I asked you earlier, respect your privacy and don't sacrifice it, for the sake of little bit more convenience.

Sort:  

Lol, so my computer is no longer mine? Soon they may rename it from this computer to our computer. Lol.

And our usernames will be "My User" :)

Upvoted! Keep it up! bramgg.crypto

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 12600 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83