Faye Valentine fanart for @htliao Anime Character Drawing Challenge

in #animedrawingchallenge7 years ago (edited)


I’m a huge anime lover so it was a given that I would have to enter in @htliao #animedrawingchallenge. I finally finished my entry today at @coffetto and it was pretty exciting! If you’re interested in making a submission then you can check out @htliao’s post Anime Character Drawing Challenge| 50 SBD Prize Pool 動漫人物繪畫比賽| 50 SBD奬池 - The deadline is Sunday, September 10th! 

I spent the last few days trying to figure out if I wanted to draw Faye Valentine from Cowboy Bebop. It was a hard choice because I knew that I had a specific image of her in mind and if it wasn’t drawn exactly like how I imaged then I’d lose my mind. I mentally prepared myself and continued forward with my fanart concept.

Please wait for the gifs to load...

I took several breaks today to goof off. I’m probably not the only one who does this but I have a habit of taking breaks just as I’m about to finish something. 😅

This drawing was completed on the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil using the Procreate 4 public beta. I used the dry ink tool for the sketch/outline and round brush tool for painting. I clicked into my canvas details and was surprised to see that I spent almost 12 hours on this gorgeous lady! 

I thought about calling it done after finishing her head. For those of you who have been following my art then you’ve probably noticed a trend of me only doing faces. 

I’m not too confident with my anatomy so I usually skip it but for this drawing I knew that I needed to challenge myself. If everyone participating is going to try their hardest then I should too!

It took several layers to map out her pose. I had to make several adjustments to the length of her arms and I knew that sketching the gun would be hard so I left it for the end. 

Here’s the final outline! I’m happy that the vision that I had in mind translated beautifully. I wanted her to have a cool comic book feel. I also thought about stopping here. 😝

I decided to do some test painting which helped to reassure me that I wasn’t making a mistake to/not to paint Faye.

I ended up rolling with it. It wasn’t until I painted in her hair that I felt good about adding color. I’ll be sharing a video of the hyperlapse sketch in a separate post. I watched it right after finishing this drawing and it sunk in how much blood, sweat, and tears were put into the creation of this single image. 

A big thank you to @htliao for organizing the #animedrawingchallenge -it’s been fun! I’ve discovered fellow anime lovers in the process and I’ve also developed more as an artist!


Thanks for checking out my art!

Who’s your favorite Cowboy Bebop character? 🦊

Sort:  

Really great work! She turned out awesome! I think you made the right call, to keep going, and add the color.
I was just looking at this contest! I used to be big into anime, and still love to draw it from time to time... I just don't think I'll have time before Sunday to sit down and finish something. Wah-wah! Good luck!!!

Yay! I'm glad you liked it. Yeah, I felt really stressed for time so I'm happy that I was able to finish!

You know the first rule of combat? Shoot them before they shoot you. -Faye Valentine

She's so badass. 😌❤️🔥

Oh I love this so much!!! The lines and everything looks great!

Thanks @justaboutart! I can't recall how many times I had to draw and erase to get the lineart where I wanted it! 😭

Well I think that all that work was worth it ! 😊

OMG!! This is pretty awesome!!!
I suck at digi-arts... so I salute you so much.. hihi ^_^

Aww, Thank you!!! I practice a lot but I've still got a ways to go. :D

You're welcome.. I think we need to continuously draw to improve more and more... as well as to keep our skill.. hihi^^

We do!! We do! ✌🏼

Great work keeep it up...... upvoted!!

Wow1 Nice Post,,,,,,

Digital drawing is nice!!! Very cool tool!

Thanks!! Yeah, it was nice to draw something solid with the Procreate 4 beta. I’m very happy with it. ☺️

You're welcome :)

cowboy bebop is one of my favorite anime!
personally my favorite character was spike.
Although Ed was funny to.

I also really love Spike. He's got a great personality. Ein was always on my list of favorites. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89