You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why changing the sex of Andromeda Shun is NOT inclusive?

in #anime5 years ago

Very well said. The comments under the YouTube trailer (English) expressed this very well too. I still haven't watched the anime. But I know for a fact that Japan and anime has been more accommodating of non-traditional things of all sorts. I mean they even had a live action spiderman adaptation that is more violent than BvS Batman. I myself don't fit the traditional masculinity depiction and in many ways I do identify with many aspects of the character you described. Even my avatar Makishima Shougo isn't what you'd generally call "masculine".

The worst part is the Netflix version doesn't seem to have much weight. I love CGI anime like Kingsglaive, Appleseed, Vexille, Gantz etc. But they turned into something that make Transformers: Prime look hard boiled. Also the female shun gave me the entitled bitch vibes during the brief trailer moments.

You don't create exclusivity by pulling off stunts like this. You do it by not caring about differences:


Sort:  

"Entitled bitch vibes," that's accurate! xD Morgan Freeman is so right (he always is) about racism and how we keep talking about our differences when we are all human beings. The video about trans women in Thailand is very interesting too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05