What I'm watching this season (Winter 2018)

in #anime6 years ago

Now that the first batch of exams is over I finally have got some days off from learning so I thought it would be time for another post. And if it was planned, most of this season's shows have hit their third episodes (or even more). Now that I've watched some shows up to their most recent episode I'd like to give you a list what I'm watching.
First off, I only have subscriptions for Crunchyroll Germany and Amazon Prime Germany so my selection is quite limited but nevertehless my "watching list" is quite packed. But enough exposition, let's get to the list.

New this season

Citrus

I don't even know why I started watching this.
The show's about a gal that hadn't yet had any experience with love. But when her mother moves to her new boyfriend, she gets a step sister with whom she experiences love and lust for the first time.
I know my first sentence sounds repellent but I actually enjoy this show. Although I'm into anime for over a year now, this is my first yuri anime. I wonder how the story will progress but I'm also sure that this won't be my favourite by the end of the season. Artstyle and animation are nice but nothing special, I also like the OP.

Darling in the FranXX

Another "first time" in my "career". Normally, I avoid mecha anime but - just like with citrus - I read many positive posts about this show and I thought I would give it a try.
The basic story consists of a group of teenagers whose only purpose in life is to steer huge robots called "FranXX" in a dystopian world. These robots only work when operated by a team consisting of a boy and a girl and are irreplacable to defend the city against several monsters called "kyorjuu". Our protagonist Hiro (or Code:016) has lost his ability to steer such a robot with his partner so he thinks about just leaving his fellow "parasites". But one day a girl with horns called Zero-Two (or Code:002) comes to the city and with her, he's even able to steer a special type of FranXX, "Strelizia".
The storyline is promising so far so I guess I'll watch it till the end. I really like the artstyle and animation is good to. Also it's a coproduction of A-1 and Studio Trigger and I'm a huge fan of Trigger's works.

Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyousoukyoku/Death March to the Parallel World Rhapsody

Don't hate me if I tell you that I still enjoy isekai shows but it's just something to shut down your brain and watch an overpowered protagonist doing his fantasy world stuff.
Interestingly, our main hero wasn't even overpowered when he entered the world of a game that he himself was programming in one of his dreams. After one of the days close to the game's deadline - referred to as "death march" - Suzuki Ichirou just wants to take his well earned night rest when he suddenly pops up in the world of his game, accompanied by a "help for beginners", the meteor rain. When he gets into trouble for the first time he accidentally uses it three times and progresses from level one to well over 300. Able to max out every ability he wants to, he now starts his newfound adventure.
Until now it's just a basic isekai show which, for my tastes, isn't a bad thing. Artstyle is mediocre and story will probably be to but nonetheless I'll probably watch it to the end.

Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens

This show has an interesting premise. It's set in a city full of assassins but I don't really know yet where the story is heading. As of now, one of the assassins has teamed up with a detective to have his revenge against his former employer. Oh, and did I mention that this particular assassin is a trap. Seriously, why is this trend so popular?
If you haven't guessed by now this is a candidate for dropping but I'll still give it one or two episodes to prove itself. At least OP and ED are fitting and quite catchy. The artstyle fits, too. It reminds me a little of Bungou Stray Dogs (which I still have to finish).

Ito Junji: Collection

It's a horror show, either you like it or you don't. The anime consists of several short horror stories, adapted from Ito Junji's manga. I haven't read them yet, luckily, I would say since there are many people who say the anime isn't nearly as good as the source material. But I think it's finally a good horror anime because it doesn't rely on jumpscares. And to preserve this attitude, I'll start reading the manga AFTER the show has finished airing. Artstyle is simple and dark which fits the show just perfectly and the soundtrack really helps to point out the eerie atmosphere.
Horror is, by far, my most favourite genre and I hate that most things that are produced in this genre are trash and not remotely scary but only gory or something like that so I'm happy that there's something with creepy stories now that sends chills down my spine.

Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san

Another episodic show that, I think Lost Pause made me aware of.
It's a cute slice of life show about the boy Nishikata who is always being teased by his classmate Takagi. What he doesn't know is that she mainly does that because she's in love with him and wants to spend time with him (no spoiler since it's told in episode 1).
It's funny to see Nishikatas reactions which mostly end in him blushing because he also seems to like Takagi. Artstyle is cool and animation fits for a chilled and funny slice of life show.

Miira no Kaikata/How to Keep a Mummy

Story is that high school student Sora Kashiwagi gets a package from his father who is an adventurer and scientist. Within this package, Sora finds an enormous coffin from which emerges a small mummy who wants to become his friend and live with him as his pet.
This is just a feelgood show because "Mii-kun" is just too cute. I enjoy watching it although it hasn't really got a consistent storyline. It's interesting to learn more about Mii-kun and it makes me wish to have one for myself. Another slice of life comedy that's worth watching.

Poputepipikku/Pop Team Epic

I really don't know what the fuck is going on in this show. It's based on a somewhat famous 4-koma-manga which I haven't read a single one of so maybe that's why most of the time I don't get the jokes... Also it's basically a short anime, by now it even annoys me that they show the same episode twice only with other seiyuu.
Another candidate to be dropped although some scenes are simply hilarious.

Sora yori mo Tooi Basho/A Place Further Than the Universe

This is probably my favourite show this season (yes, I'm a huge fan of slice of life, I don't even know why myself ^^).
Generally, it's about a group of four friends who travel to the antarctica together. At first, they have to face many difficulties but they are really lucky at times and so they are able to finally make it to their destination.
This is a really interesting anime because it's got almost nothing to do with school and it shows four girls who want to make their youth not only special but completely unforgettable with their unususal trip. It really makes me happy watching this show and seeing the determination and inventiveness these girls have and that maybe I wish to also have. OP and ED are very nice and I strongly recommend watching this.

Yuru Camp△/Laid Back Camp△

Another calm slice of life (what a season for this genre, isn't it?) about four girls camping. There's not much else to say about that, you'll have to watch it for yourself to understand the charm. The OP really got me, just a feelgood song and overall another feelgood show.

Continuing from Fall 2017

Mahoutsukai no Yome/The Ancient Magus' Bride

Beautifully drawn and animated show, a classical fantasy magic setting, even playing in London.
The story's about Chise Hatori, an orphan who was expelled from her new family and thus agreed to be sold to a stranger just to have someone who takes care of her. She's bought by the magician Elias Ainsworth who wants to make her his apprentice. Now learning magic, she expereinces one adventure after the other.
I guess most of you are also watching this show, at least here in Germany it seems to be quite popular and I can understand why. Although it follows no real storyline, the small episodes are really heartwarming and touching and sometimes even dramatic and scary. This show's so much in one and as I already mentioned the artstyle and animation are amazing, not to forget the great soundtrack. I just have to say that the second OP and ED are weaker than the first ones.

Due to the lack of action shows I also decided to watch Re:Creators on Amazon Prime. It's already two seasons old but it really got me. I'm almost through so I guess I'll give you my opinion on it when I finished it (which will probably be by tomorrow or the day after tomorrow).

If you've read it to the end and you're one of the first two readers, I've got a little present for you. Since I don't have many friends who enjoy anime, I don't know how to use my Cruchyroll Guest Passes so I always gift them to people. Here you go:

XM4CZ8CK55N
6UX3VCHY38G

Thanks for reading and have a nice day you all.

Sort:  

Man! How do you get so much free time to watch all of these shows? I wish I was back in college just for the free time, haha! Nice list, you certainly got me interested in Sora yori mo Tooi Basho/A Place Further Than the Universe. There's something about slice of life anime that feels just so mellow.

I guess I'm really lucky at the moment in terms of free time but if you follow the shows weekly it's not that big of a problem in my opinion. Just if you have got to catch up a week's worth of episodes it could stress you out ^^ But I guess my free time will shrink by next semester...
Slice of life really is a nice thing, I hope you enjoy the show :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51