Beyond The Ziggurat: Water Experiments

in #animator6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem! Happy to see the network stabilized with the recent fork so I wanted to post something for the first time in a while. Lately I've been finishing up the last few touches to an animated music video for @illpoetic (will post about that soon) and finishing up a slew of other work.

But! I've still had time to experiment and work on my passion project of over 5 years, Beyond The Ziggurat. For the past 3 years I've been building a custom render engine/tool set within After Effects. This engine was built specifically for Beyond The Ziggurat and has forced me to discipline and streamline my animation process- to the point where I use this for my professional freelance work comfortably. I completed the main the architecture only a few months ago- so I've been eager to build tests and templates for common environments and situations. Also to ensure the workflow/engine can handle extremely resource intensive renders without making After Effects explode.

First hurdle was large bodies of water, oceans, anything like that. If I can't get this to render or look nice, the entire engine needs to be rethought as it is integral to the story. Luckily it seems to be going well. If I crash After Effects less than 100 times in a week I'm on the right track.

Further Tests:
Ocean_Engine_Build 2 (0-00-01-02).jpg
Ocean_Engine_Build 2 (0-00-01-03).jpg
Ocean_Engine_Build 2 (0-00-01-04).jpg
Ocean_Engine_Build 2 (0-00-01-05).jpg
Ocean_Engine_Build 2 (0-00-01-06).jpg

Still have a lot of work to do but I'm finally not worried it won't work.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is excellent @thelocomotive! You're just the kind of artist I'm looking for for a project.

Here's the summary:

I’m hoping to find artists willing to work on a collaborative project in exchange for Steem. What that looks like exactly is up for discussion.

I’m hoping to put together a visual encyclopedia for my upcoming novel as a companion. What this would entail is doing any number of pieces based on specific commission or a number of writings I’ve released so far, to help establish a visual basis for the world I’m creating.

The pieces would then be hosted on http://incorruptiblebook.com/

Know that I cannot pay by traditional means. The options available to you are either negotiating exclusive right to post, taking a % cut of anything I post that uses your work, or working for free/exposure. I understand if you would prefer to decline.

~ Mako

Appreciate the comment and liking my work! Unfortunately I don't have enough free time to focus on anything else but my own projects unless I'm able to be compensated. Thanks for the offer.

No worries, cheers to you!

~ Mako

Congratulations @thelocomotive! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @thelocomotive! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thelocomotive! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50