Unmotivated - An Animation

in #animation7 years ago

Sometimes I have trouble finishing what I sta...

animation.gif


This gif inspired me to play around a little with some animation. I'd love some pointers regarding software and workflow if anyone in the community is proficient. As things stand it's just too tedious, but perhaps if I can find the right method?





Sort:  

making a tower on your head then walk ;)

I've experimented a few times. This one is shitty though. Simple art program, copy/paste layers, several separate images, giphy.com did the work. I could probably do a hell of a lot better but I never have time.

That is shitty.

Agreed. I did this one as well. Not as shitty, but frame rate is too slow and I had to reduce image quality.

It is also lacking a giant pile of turds... so yes, "Not as shitty" 💩

Yeah well, that particular character didn't need to escape out of a window... long story.

Well...

By the looks of it, perhaps the "gif" will get bored?

J/K

:p

While I don't have personal experience, I have had animators in my circle, and have watched them animate. They generally employ a range of software for different steps.

I downloaded a software for basic animation a while ago, it's called Stykz. When I did a google search for more like it, I found this article, which includes links to other software I recall seeing in use. I've fallen out of touch with my animator friends over the years, otherwise I would hit them up and get some updated information.

I don't have much in the way of advice. I'd definitely like to dabble in some animation at some point, but haven't found the time to learn.
I'd look at Moho for possible software. I trust it because it's the same company that makes Clip Studio which is pretty much industry standard for comics (next to Photoshop.)
Moho is not too pricey and I see folks getting good results. I'll dive into it, ... someday!

Thanks. I'll check that out. Just getting my feet wet atm. Still trying to build a following with comics.

Following now

Hey thanks! I'll try not to disappoint

It is tedious as heck.

I tend to create one frame at the very start which has all of my objects in it. I can then copy those to subsequent frames to prevent having to draw everything from scratch on each one. That's about it from me. I think if i had a real computer with tablet for drawing and proper workspace I would have more of a workflow, instead I am trapped on my little android phone!

I am quite the amateur though, there are probably top notch animators it there that have all sorts of groovy tricks

That's similar to what did. I drew all of the components and then arranged each frame one by one. I can't imagine trying to do something of any significant length like that.

Aye, it's awful in some respects!

I do a lot of cloning frames and focusing on one change within at a time. It can be grim though. If you find out some groovy way pass it on!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39