Model M - Vengeance | Original Stop-motion Hybrid Music Video

in #animation7 years ago

The next few posts in my Music Tuesday highlights are going to focus on my husband's project, Model M. I thought I'd kick it off with a bang and share my favourite music video which I made for his song "Vengeance" as his first appearance here on my blog.

I had just bought my rebel and wanted to do some kind of stop-motion project with it, and when I heard the very heavy industrial song I was instantly inspired to make this:

This is my anti-war video. Despite a lot of the dark and sometimes violent imagery that I tend to lean towards in my work (I'm a big horror fan!), I am actually a believer in the non-aggression principle and am very anti-war. Maybe creating those images is my strange way of appreciating life more, I dunno. I have a soft spot in my heart for veterans, especially ones that were essentially forced into the war machine due to life circumstances or drafts, and this is dedicated to them.

Anyway, the theme of this video is innocence. Our youth have the power to stop the cycle of violence perpetuated by corporatist and government greed. Don't underestimate them! Support them.

Some Technical Info

I shot this on my Rebel SL1 camera, using three of my lenses: 40mm, 50mm, 18-55mm. Some of the live action footage was also shot on my EX3.

It was shot in Kelowna, BC in the early mornings and late evenings - I had been called up there to cover for the studio's production manager for a week and brought the whole family with me. The landscape was perfect for what I wanted to do with this, so I took full advantage.

Shooting totaled about 20-24 hours over the course of the week, and the editing was about 3 weeks. Mostly because I shot in RAW and I was forced to use my not-so-fast-laptop to get things started. There is a little bit of stock footage in there to drive home some of the war concepts, but the majority of it is original footage. This was also one of the rare occasions where I didn't really plan too much - I bought a bucket of army men and just came up with shots on the fly!

Finally, this was a true family affair - My video, my husband's song (though that's me screaming in it), and my daughter (1 year old at the time) stars in it!

Many army men were harmed in the making of this video. RIP little green soldiers and thank you for your service.

Enjoy!

DEROSNEC
WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

I cannot even imagine how long it took you to do this. I'm stunned. You have got to stop doing stuff like this if you want more than two word comments from me. Gibbering amazement is all I can manage when I'm done with one of your works. You're lucky it's two words and not some long, incoherent moan. Srsly.

The-STEEM-Engine

hahaha well I appreciate all comments, even two word ones! But thank you again, your comments are always too kind (but some of the best!).

How dope!! It looks like a lot of work... how long does it take you to do something like this i. Total.. i mean i know you said about 24 hours shooting plus the editing.. but how many hours did you edit?

Thanks for watching! The editing in hours is hard to say since it was really spread out over my free time - but it wasn't too too long. The compositing took a bit longer, especially in the big panning shots where explosions are really happening. I want to say another 40-50 hours for post production?

It is indeed a lot of work, but I love doing it! It's very fulfilling :D

your daughter is just adorable ma'am. Those soldiers didn't have any trainig for baby giants.

haha thank you - yeah, you'd think they'd train for that! ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #21 (1/19/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Yaay!! Thanks you guys! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99