Discussing "Archer Shooting Arrow" - My Classical or Hand drawn Animation

in #animation7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends!! today I am going to share an animation that I have made last year to develop my skills in animation. It is a traditional animation which is also called classical animation or hand drawn animation (as we have to draw every frame by hand.)

Thumbnail

archer-thumb.jpg

All the movies like Tarzan, Mulan, Aladdin are traditionally animated. I mostly do 3d animation where we have a 3d character attached to a skeleton with controls. We have to pose the character and set the keyframes and the inbetweens are generated according to the spacing between the two frames.

In traditional animation, animator has to draw every frame in a separate sheet. All the sheets / paper are then captured and played to see the final animation.

I did not use any reference for this animation because of my habit of trying without any reference first. It's not that using reference is a bad thing. Its just my way of working. Besides, It's good to train your brain to create something without using any reference.

I wasn't worry about how it was looking. I was focused on the movement so the cracked lines dont bother me and I am quite satisfied with the result. However, I can change many thing to make it look more natural as the animation is not that expressive. Here is the animation.

The Archer (No Bow)

Untitled.gif

This is my second attempt at classical animation in which an archer is shooting an arrow. The first attempt was not good but I will share it if you want :D

The Archer (Bow Added)

bow.gif

I used Pose to Pose animation technique where we have to draw all the keyframes and after that we draw the inbetweens to get the smooth movement. The other way is Straight ahead in which we draw frames one after another till the end.

Changes I can make

If I have to rework this animation, the first change I would do is to look for more natural and expressive poses such as the one given below.

For an archer, the tilted head looks more appropriate and it also shows that the person who is shooting the arrow is a skilled archer. The current one can be used for a person who doesn't know much about archery.

Archer-Looping-finished.jpg

What do you think about this animation? I would love to know your opinion about this animation :D Thank you :)))

Sort:  

Good effort... And with your labour and confidence do better than it in next attempt..Good luck! .Upvoted and followed friend.

Thank you for your comment man. I appreciate it ;))

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

upvoted and follow you! I invite you to visit my blog, it's about my art!

Thank you @prostosun, I see you do traditional paintings. Keep posting good stuff. I am following. ;))

This is really great @artlover. It's amazing to see the different stages, but also the little details one must pay attention to like the tilted head and how that demonstrates how skilled the archer is. I have seen how in animation, every stage has to be drawn and that's really both time consuming and painstaking work.

Thanks nomad!! Yeah! and think how many frames/drawing they draw to animate a full feature. ;D Sometimes its pain for me (Since I am learning and couldn't get things right sometimes) but most of all its fun. I really enjoy it!! :))

That's what matters, that you enjoy what you do :)

You did this without reference? really cool!

Thanks man :)) Yeah, I do not use references for creating any of my art. I don't know why but I have this obsession haha. For me it is a good way to test the visual memory. :))

it actually makes sense - as you mentioned you are training your brain to not be dependent on visual references. keep up the good work :)

Thanks man.. I will!! :))

This is brilliant!! wish I could do something like this.

Thanks for your comment man!! :)) This wasn't that hard but yeah, time consuming. I am glad you enjoyed my work. Good day man :D

Congratulations @artlover! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

oh i love it....i sux at animation...since drawing one frame per frame is......well...it takes to long :D so i just make a few basic frames and no inbetweens :D

Thanks atopy :)) Yeah, its a tedious task to draw every frame and correct them if needed. However it feels so good after finishing something like this. :D

I had once read a book about animation and it's really a hard thing to do (for me since I am not an artist like yourself haha XD) since you really have to draw first sa main frames then you then need to use it as reference for the other subframes for it to move, it was really hard and awesome and cool, I wish I could draw like this lol haha.

Anyways, I like it! The movements are smooth, now, you just have to add colors and details then you can create your own archer character already. This post is real cool, seriously, loved it! Very well done @artlover! :)

Thank youuu :)) Yeah, Traditional animation is quite difficult but fun too. If I compare, I find 3d animation much easier. In 3d animation we dont have to worry about the forms and we can animate the skeleton even if we do not have the character ready and fine tune it after that. We dont have to worry about inbetweens in 3d. In 3d Its all depends on how you lay your keys. Working on another one, Will share soon!! :D

You're welcome! Excited for your next work. ^^ Good Luck! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56263.97
ETH 2964.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18