You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Animals Be Kept As Pets? My Thoughts On National Pet Day

in #animals7 years ago

I can understand your feelings for dogs & cats. But have you considered what a pet owner is supposed to feed a cat? A cat is a carnivorous animal and can't thrive without meat. Although some vegans are trying to raise them on a plant-based diet but that's very unnatural. Dogs are said to be omnivorous and can do well on a plant-based diet. But how many pet owners raise them as vegan?

I know, dogs are a domesticated species and probably won't survive in the forests. But cats can. For dogs, I'd like to propose several mini-sanctuaries or shelters where they can roam freely under expert care and support. So that all dogs can be raised vegan under expert observation and 100% of them can be spayed and neutered. Why should one keep them in their house!

In your country, there may not be any stray dogs but they can be trained to scavenge food on their own. It is their natural behaviour which we have suppressed because of our desire to pet them. Have you heard the story of Christian, the lion?

I'm curious to know why would you want to make an exception for cats & dogs for keeping them as pets.

Sort:  

Yeah I see we have a lot of same views on how dogs and cats should be treated I just didn't think about evolving my reply about them.

I totally agree with you that cats cannot be healthy on a vegan diet, at least what I know of.
Cat's can survive but I also think there is a climate issue and the fact that I don't want the poor cats to freeze to death in the winter since a lot of them are not suited for the -15 degrees celcious or more we can get here in Sweden during the winter.
In a warmer climate sure but we also need to keep them spayed and neutured so they don't kill off all the birds.

According to dogs so have I never thought that way. It's a great idea to create mini sanctuaries where they can be free and run around.

They probably can, I just can't see the population in Sweden agreeing on that. As I said we get really cold temperatures here and many of them would freeze to death in the winter.
I'm all in for shelters and sanctuaries.

I think every country need to find a way that is suited for their climate, population and so on.
Here we have laws that say you can't leave your dog or cat longer than 4 hours alone.
There is of course a lot to be done and I think that establishing mini-sanctuaries would be a great idea along with laws of neutering and spaying pets.

IMHO, if a country's climate is unsuitable for any animal species, those animals should not be given shelter in that country. Take in those animals from other countries for whom your country's environment is most suitable and move out all unsuitable animals by finding the places best suitable for them.

I understand how you think and I can agree. The question is how would that be implemented? Since the general population here does not agree.
It's one thing to talk about utopic opinions here but how could that be implemented without causing a riot?

Well, there could be several ways and steps to implement it but more important than that is to spread the idea that a better solution exists. Unless and until we (the masses) understand the idea behind any proposed action, it has a high probability of failure. But once the idea sets in, solution crops out.

That's true. I do think how ever it will take a few years for people to start think that way when it comes to cats and dogs. We have a way of humanice them and implement our human feelings on them. Making it impossible to think why we should not have them in our home and take care of them.
I am how ever often the vegan with the unpopular opinion :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68547.43
ETH 2527.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53