New Life and New Beginnings! Baby Goats are the CUTEST!!!

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

NEW LIFE BLESSINGS! Fancy Too's Kidding!


There are many things in life that make me smile but nothing that makes me cry happy tears like a baby goat being born! It will never get old, and I will never grow tired of the wonderful experience. I think that is especially true now after the tragedy of losing four of our precious goats this summer.
(IF you want to read about that here are the links... first post , second post , third post )


We really needed this blessing in our lives at this time! Our Nubian doe Fany Too was due to kid and we were waiting, not so patiently! I thought her first mating was when she was bred but she was two weeks late yesterday morning so I was now thinking that she had another week left. So imagine my surprise when she comes out of her stall with a tight udder and a gooey, swollen vulva! "Uh oh girl! Oh no you don't, back in that stall. You are not going to have those babies out in the pasture! You will stay in today and get lots of extra love and attention!"

IMG_20170828_154547058_TOP.jpg

I knew that even though she was showing signs of early labor that it could be all day and night possibly before I saw any kids being born. So I fed my two little ones and put their boots on and said "Lets go garden!" Our Garden is right outside tha barn so I could listen for her and poke my head in to check the progress. The boys and I pulled weeds, picked peppers and green beans and fed the chickens. Hours passed by quickly as our weed pile grew and grew. I would go in and check every so often, looking for signs that active labor was setting in. It was almost time for Daddy to be home from work when something changed!

IMG_20170828_181301436.jpg

She had become very tense and I could tell she was in pain. She yawned and pressed her head against the wall repetively, which are classic signs of pain in goats. So I went in for a closer look and to really get a good idea where she was at. It was definately progressing! The goo was evident and the contractions seemed much stronger and closer together! Luckily, Ryan got home just in time to take the boys so I could stay with her as she began active labor with her first push...

IMG_20170828_193149005.jpg

Soon the bubble was in view and I was looking for two hooves and a nose, the perfect position for a goat to deliver in. And soon I saw just that!

IMG_20170828_194044896.jpg

She was pushing and bellowing so hard! She was really quite dramatic for my normally quiet goat! I was starting to wonder if baby was too big when she finally delivered a beautiful baby girl! Oh the tears of joy!

IMG_20170828_194539641.jpg

Not even two minutes after I got this one on the teat she delivered the second one in one good push! It was a handsome boy! So we had a doeling and a buckling and I was in love at first sight!

IMG_20170828_200746357.jpg

Finally, we had something good happen after a summer of tragedies! My heart was full of happiness! And yet somehow it brought up all the pain and loss and I began sobbing! It was no longer happy tears but letting go tears... I was letting out the extreme emotional baggage and jusy ugly crying now. When I was done, I looked up through tear filled eyes and I saw two beautiful babies wobbling on their new legs, searching for a teat and I knew... Right there and then I pledged to put everything I had into making these two the happiest, healthiest kids the world has ever seen!

So I wiped away the tears and helped those precious babies find the teats and made sure they had enough to eat and were dry and warm enough before I went to eat my own dinner!

IMG_20170828_210425142.jpg
This little buckling we have named Juniper!

IMG_20170828_210434076.jpg
Fern is our sweet little doeling!

Now I will leave you with a bunch of cute baby goat pictures for you to oooohhhh and aaahhh over!

IMG_20170828_210453115.jpg

IMG_20170829_114839078.jpg

IMG_20170829_115239131.jpg

IMG_20170829_130800474.jpg

IMG_20170829_130837780.jpg

IMG_20170829_130853065.jpg

IMG_20170829_130902081.jpg

woodgrainline.gif

For the real adventerous, here is video of the birth!

Sort:  

so happy they are cute
desel

Best news yet, @wholesomeroots! So glad mom and kids are doing so well. It's extra special that you got to be there for the whole thing considering the difficult times preceding this moment. You deserve a positive turn of events for a change and it doesn't get any better than this!

Thank you so much, I really hope this heals us all

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ${username} from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Mama, I was feeling your pain! So sweet at the end with all the "kids". Congratulations on your new babies; and their colour is absolutely beautiful!

Thank you! It was quite the emotional day but a good emotion, healing! The kids love those babies!

Congratulations on the two new little goats. I've never seen a goat in labor and giving birth before, so I'm so glad you recorded video of the experience! After a long hard summer, I'm so happy for you and your homestead to have new life (lives!) and new beginnings filled with happy memories and love. Huge congratulations and even my heart is full from your post!

Aww! Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the video! I am always glad to be there for the birth!

Watching birth never gets old for me. Girl, you had me ballin' right along side you. I'm so happy for you!

I love being there! Thank you for your empathy!

Tears of healing sound ugly but do so much good. You have so much love in you and now it can come out unburdened. I am so jealous of you and the new babies.

It is hard to let go and cry but it is so healing!

Pictures of kids with kids always get to me. Great stuff; thanks for sharing.

Thank you! those boys love their goats so much! Especially the babies!

Thank you! They are adorable together!

I'm so glad your feeling more chirpy and your new babies are just so sweet.

Thank you, they are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39