Don't Wish Away the Puppy Years

in #animals7 years ago (edited)


She was just 2 pounds when we found her, chasing trash in the middle of a bad neighborhood of Kansas City, as the radio predicted a major snow storm.
When I saw her I grabbed my husband and told him, "Babe, stop! It's a chihuahua!"
As soon as I got her in the car he took one look at her and wryly said, "That's no chihuahua".
The vet said she was only 16 weeks old, and likely a Jack Russell mix. He said if she stayed small, she was probably part chihuahua. So my husband and I were both right.

As a puppy, she was ridiculously smart. We tried to crate train her, but every time we would leave we would return to find her joyfully waiting for us at the door, having escaped her kennel. Eventually we discovered she was climbing out through a hole we thought she was too big for.

A few days after we found her, Kansas City was buried under nearly a foot of snow. The first time I took her in the snow, I thought I lost her forever. She was so tiny she sank completely and I cried as I dug her out. She was shaking from fear- a true chihuahua reaction. It was both cute and horrifying.

Charlie will paw at you if you have a blanket so she can get under it to sleep. When she wants to go outside she will crawl up on my chest and look me right in the face. She takes a while to warm up to people, but once you are her person you are her person forever. We were so lucky to find her!

If you liked this, check out my other posts...
Pug Thoughts
Home


All photos and text property of the author

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @sunravelme. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sunravelme to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

What a great rescue story, and what a great team you are not turning your head and walking on.

Thanks! My husband and I have a soft spot for animals and usually will stop and attempt to find the owners or drop the animal off at a no-kill shelter (since we are currently at a max for pets). Now that people have started chipping their pets, this process has become much faster!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

She's beautiful, loved the story of how she came into your lives, and I bet you can't imagine your lives with out her now :)

Thank you! My husband jokes that as soon as it becomes affordable we will be cloning her. She's the best dog :)

What a beautiful rescue story! Charlie's an adorable addition to your family. I love the photos and how fortunate you were there to rescue her. I hate drop offs. My cat Newt is my rescue. He was a drop off, too.

Thank you! She's been the best dog- rescues are such great pets. Newt is a great name for a cat :) I'm sure he is lucky to have you.

They do! I think that they know how fortunate they are. Newt is a character and very affectionate. Your welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62946.22
ETH 3453.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50