Baby Ducks Don’t Belong in a Hamster cage. How I Unwillingly Adopted a Couple of Ducklings. Respecting All Life On This Planet; Even against my will.

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

I’m rather pissed at those who made this situation but curse my respect for all animals, even the ones that don’t’ show affection to humans”


I’m not completely certain I am the only one caring for these ducklings BUT I am well aware that every time I passed by them I was always refilling their empty water and food. They have a bag a cornmeal beside the cage and well, I have started bringing water with me.

They love when I drizzle water through the cage bars into their dish. They’re literally so thirsty for water and attention they go nuts as soon as they recognize my voice.

I don’t know whose ducks they are after 3-4 weeks of taking care. I have gotten hints from the security guards doing rounds. They live 4th floor same buildings as me. Well GD! I am 4th floor of the same building. Well, sonfoa I live on the fourth floor. I remember one night I came home and they were on the shared balcony chirping away. The next morning they were gone, they got moved to the outside by the car park. WTF!

I even clean their cage and for all intensive purposes took complete responsibility for their well being. Shame on the heartless jerks that took them in and refused to take care. I am waiting for the day I bump into them so I can *verbally kick their ass.

Very adventurist if I'm not trying to hold them.

Ducklings are easy to get, not easy to keep. They would have died if I wasn’t watering them or at least they would not be so well off. Maybe not… I think the actual owners know I am taking care and decided to be twats and let me do their job. Classic!

I will go to Canada for 4-6 weeks this summer and who will do this duty when I’m gone. I worry, I already have 2 house cats to worry about when I am gone and the person I thought would help is not available now.

Till then I do enjoy these ducklings. I can hear them chirping when I get close and somehow the alley cats have kept distant enough to not knock the cage lose and eat them though I have seen them stalking the area as usual.. No foxes here!

This is China. Wild West of the East. In many ways.

I do visit them after sunset, to make sure they have water and something to eat. I might add the night shots but I'm no so good at dark light photography.

Sort:  

They should be big enough to release at a lake in another couple of months. Ducks grow up in like 4 months or so. They definitely won't fit in that cage long.

That is useful info... i wondered this. I expect one they will be gone.. sucks. MY Babies, lol

What kindness you have!

Give them a little place to swim in, you'll love it :D. The pictures are awesome. I hope you find someone to take care of them, rather unfortunate what happened with the ducks but you saved their life more than likely.

I would love to give them a place to swim.They and I, would love it,

Anything works, with an utility knife you can cut the wall off the side of a tire, then put a sheet of plastic, or tarp in it and fill it with water and let them waddle, dive and clean themselves, or a container not much bigger and deeper than the cage would suffice.

I'm thinking to something for them. I don't want to spend money but they need a bigger home. I have a big plastic storage box with high walls they wont get out of but it's not clear so they would only see the walls of the box. And the lid also isn't translucent and if i keep it off the alley cats will dinner.

Maybe I will stumble upon something useful. Good tips. They need a pool for sure.

How old do you suppose they should be if I release them in a lake. ?

It's a shame to see there still people like that...

One child society... lacks empathy.

Not just humans are our neighbors. All life is sacred. Hate to say it but they may be being raised for someone's dinner.

haha. oh.. i am fully aware of that. BUT still even if their destiny is the dinner plate why not fatten them up? I truly think they would have died by now if i didn't help out.

duck is delicious. I just think all life deserves a good life. Makes it taste better. I love eating duck.

Vegetarian here. Lost my taste for eating that form of life 50 years ago.

sorry i rushed through this post I felt I needed to run out and check on them. ><

They are so sweet!

i wish they were as cuddly as kitten, but then the second i touch them their darling chirps change from thank you to "F" you. lol

You are doing a good thing. :)

I hate people at times they really let me down :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43