Update on Bruno

in #animals5 years ago

A few people have asked how Bruno is doing and I wish I had some better news. He spends about 90% of his time in the bathroom now... he'll come out to eat or go out and relieve himself. He came into the living room for about 20 minutes yesterday long enough to eat a couple treats and for me to snap this picture.

He acts like he's terrified of something- but I don't know what it is. I even started thinking that I might be sleepwalking and doing something terrible to him. But if that was the case, he'd be afraid of me, and he isn't. In fact when he comes out of his bathroom retreat he sticks to me like glue.

Another thing- when he's in the bathroom, he constantly licks the floor. This behavior in dogs is an indication that there's something lacking in their diet... but what's is it he finds on the bathroom floor??? I don't know what to do, I just try to make him as comfortable as possible. Now my commode has a bed in front of it. He's still a wonderful friend and I promised him when I got him that we'd stick it out together... I would just love to see him act a bit more normal.

I guess that's about it for now. If anyone knows anything about bathroom floor licking, please let me know.

Sort:  

It's good to have a update on Bruno just a shame is come in as bad news, I'm not sure exactly what the floor licking is all about but valued-customer maybe on to something with he's comment, also not saying you have done anything to Bruno but dogs can be often forgiving which nasty people exploit.

My dog gets what I call "licky lou" where she starts licking everything and won't stop, the only cure is to put her outside to eat grass, the vet said when they do that it's a sign of upset stomach. Is your dog on probiotics?

My dog was chronically ill for a while when she was 9 after eating recalled food for a while and I thought she was not long for this world and I put her on a probiotic and nutritional supplement called Dinovite and she turns 14 next month.
I also started taking her to acupuncture. Acupuncture works better on dogs than people, the results have been great. And CBD oil helped with her shitting the bed.

I came over to see if you had blogged out your NHL stuff yet and I am bummed, I was hoping he was doing better, I appreciated your e/m updates to me on this last week.

Feel better Bruno, you are a good....

DOGE.


(:

It isn't Bruno, but a badly abscessed tooth that's holding me back. Once the antibiotics kick in I'll be up and running.

Dental issues are no joke, you are a pretty good DOGE also Rich

LOL

I had a dog that had an anxiety disorder. Laugh if you want, I would have too. He hid or sometimes he would get obsessive about things and lick or pace.

We treated him with a hormone I got from his vet. It helped. If he got too far out of wack I would give him a lorazepam for dogs.

That's exactly what he acts like... like he's terrified all of the time. Maybe hormones are the answer.

My doggos have never licked the bathroom floor obsessively yet, but it’s good that you keep an eye on Bruno to detect this kind of weird behaviour. Keep us updated and I hope you will find why he does it or he stops doing it by himself.

He acts afraid all of the time... I just wish I knew what he's afraid of???

If it is a general anxiety there is no "thing". It is a hormone issue. I didn't have to inject it or anything, just put it where he can smell it. On a blanket or collar, many use a bandana to soak it a bit and tie around their necks.

It is hard to tell what this may be. I imagine some sort of chronic pain like arthritis may be the reason for this.

Have you tried giving him glucosamine?

He does have arthritis and I give him a panel of supplements. Also Kratom to ease the pain.

I don't have an answer for you about the floor licking or unexplained fear but that is super sad and sounds like it would be very challenging to witness in someone you love :(

Posted using Partiko Android

So sorry for Bruno, dear friend, I hope to know better news soon. About bathroom floor licking, it could means the need of calcium in his diet or other minerals. I hope it helps you. A warm hug to yu and Bruno, dear Rich!

Thank you dear Silvia! That's what I think too, he's missing something. I hate feeling helpless- I want to help but I don't know what to do!

Rich, just got back from Maine... I read this with much feeling for him and you. About a month and a half ago my buddy was poisoned by the yard guys with some nasty crap and they left no signs... he was so very sick and I went through all that with him and he did pulled through. And they they said well sorry but he is just a dog . .A dog? He is family assholes. So I'll keep a good thought going for yah brother and Bruno...

dog.jpg

Thank you my Brother! Someone suggested he may have Cushing's disease, but his stomach isn't swollen or bloated- I'll have him checked out anyway. I just don't get why he spends all his time in the bathroom

Forgot to pass on... this day..

I was close to accepting my boy was near death's door and as much I have passed this on... the love, will and energy got him through and I know you have likely read this a zillion times - but I found comfort as now it was me not a friend in pain and fearing the grief...stay strong and pass it on to him..

Thanks Brother... Sometimes I feel like I'm just waiting for him to die- I feel helpless, he can't tell how he feels.

Shame this is so sad - sometimes we just need to let them go. Neurological disorders, liver failure, Cushing's disease, and overactive adrenal glands can all cause licking behaviors. - it is maybe time to take him to the vet and ask what is the best course of action

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30