A South East Asian Water Monitor Eating Breakfast......

in #animals6 years ago

Time for a couple of gratuitous shots of one of my beloved SE Asian Water Monitors I took whilst I was up at the Asian Institue of Science and Technology yesterday.

I just love these big lizards, this fella having some breakfast wasn't huge at about 4ft (1.3m) but he had fabulous markings and was too busy scoffing to do a runner.
These are very common here in Thailand near any water course and aren't dangerous, but its just so different to the UK when you see this sort of wildlife wandering around. Biggest lizards we have are probably the newts we used to catch as kids!
IMG_20181108_101810.jpg

IMG_20181108_101920.jpg

IMG_20181108_101921.jpg

I wasn't going to try and catch him to do @papa-pepper style video, he could if cornered have my hand off! I'll leave the reptile wrestling to the experts!

Sort:  

Pretty cool. Lizards are fascinating when you think they never stop growing till they die.

Posted using Partiko Android

They are awesome creatures. I have a lace monitor here about that size called Lenny, slightly different but very similiar.
Reptiles are underrated.

Edit-I meant to make this as a seperate comment, ma bad

Congratulations @nathen007! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 7.05% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @nathen007!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58