Hanging out with octopuses 🐙

in #animals7 years ago

While@donvee and I were in Hawaii last October we spent a few nights in Captain Cook on the Big Island. We were hoping to do a lot of snorkeling, but the weather just didn't cooperate on this trip. The hosts at our bed and breakfast suggested that we check out the octopus farm just north of Kona.

IMG_20171026_145710966.jpg

Kanaloa Octopus Farm is a research facility, but they offer tours twice a day where you get to feed and interact with some of the octopuses.

IMG_20171026_141812677.jpg

Some of these guys were pretty shy and would hide in the PVC pipes at the bottom of their tanks. Others, like Hansel, were very curious and playful. This guy was attracted to the pink bracelet on one of the visitors.

IMG_20171026_141827446.jpg

Octopuses are extremely intelligent and can get bored easily, so the staff gives them toys to play with in their tanks. If we started playing with their toys they interacted more with us.

IMG_20171026_142711107.jpg

Pearl was attracted to my cell phone. She kept reaching an arm or two out of her tank to take it from me. When she realized she wasn't going to get it she squirted a jet of water at my face.

IMG_20171026_144302300_HDR.jpg

This was one of the coolest tours I've ever done. Definitely worth the $25 fee. What are your favorite sea creatures? 🐙

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:14:29
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

They are so creepy but also really cute! Is that possible? I would definitely do this any day!

Feeding them was a little scary for me. I was afraid of their beaks

OH my oh my, I would definitely go and visit this place, although this pale one scared me a bit :O Thanks for this quite different post! :)
And, yeah, my favorite sea creature is a seahorse. I love them. But, I am fascinated with all of them. I love the submarine festival, where I can see all of the movies people made diving. Whole different world lies beneath the ocean. That is so beautiful.

There is a seahorse farm nearby as well. We didn't have time to do that tour on our last trip, but a few guests at the b&b did and they loved it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52