Cabin Critters the Luna Moth

in #animals6 years ago

Good afternoon and happy Friday!! Up at the cabin I have seen the Luna moth twice. These moths are a beautiful lime green. The first time I saw it I thought it was a bat because of it's size and it was dark out but once I got closer I knew it wasn't.
Lunar Moth.jpg

The Luna Moth is also called American Moon Moth. It is one of the larger moths, its about 3-4.5" long. I believe the one I have a picture of is a male because of the thicker antennas.

The sole purpose of an adult Luna moth is to mate. It has no mouth so it is unable to eat. The Luna moth has a very short life span of one week.

I hope to see more of the Luna moths. They are beautiful and I would like to have more than one picture of them.

Thanks for taking a look. Have a great weekend!!
20180506_105740-COLLAGE.jpg

Sort:  

OH WOW!!!! What an interesting moth! I have never seen one, ever! Thanks for sharing. Take care.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

It is amazing that a species that has no mouth was able to survive. What does the Theory of Evolution say about it?

Saw one down here once and totally freaked me out! It was in flight by the porch light and I could actually hear it flap its wings! Pretty... But no thank you! 😨 Very good pic Ma!

Congratulations @mrs-v! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58