Anyone like Tarantulas? (Original Picture)

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Good Afternoon Friends

Anyone here into tarantulas? Anyone like arachnids?

There was a time in my life around 10 years ago, that @customnature and myself started some tarantula breeding projects, sold captive bred spiderlings to the hobby, vended at shows, and even displayed and presented at an Insect Fair at Penn State University! It was such a hit, we ended up vending there as well!

One of my favorite projects was the breeding of Chilobrachys fimbriatus, or the Indian Violet Tarantula.
To the best of my knowledge, our breeding was the first “documented pairing” in the US hobby, based upon published breeding reports and documentation.

Here’s an action shot:

AE5CF1AA-21F2-4DB2-A8DE-BB691A51975F.jpeg
^^^Pretty, yet fierce!

And believe it or not, PSU has a picture of us vending on their website:

4DCE9437-E6DB-457B-ADB4-4109EEB62249.jpeg
^^^Ah, to be young again! Hahah

This was one of the most fun times in my life. I learned a lot, met a ton of people, and working with the 100’s of Tarantulas we had was a blast!

Thanks for reading. I’d like to know your thoughts on Tarantulas, and arachnids in general. Leave me some comments below!

Please upvote and follow along for more posts of varying topics.

Cheers!

Tim

Sort:  

Hahahaha! That’s what I thought, buddy!

That is a bonkers hobby - how on earth did you end up getting involved with that and how do you breed them? Is it a case of placing a male and female together and waiting for the magic to happen?

Haha! Yeah, it’s a long story about how we got involved in it....I blame @customnature !

Well, there is more to it than that. You have to take in account the molting cycle of the female, the maturing molt of the male(until their last molt, they lack the needed sexual organs) humidity and temp, feeding. And the females like to eat the males! Haha

But other than that, you just introduce them and see what happens!

Wow! So to summarise, the mating habits of tarantulas are batshit!

You can say that!
Hahahaha!

Tarantulas are often such gentle beings. I had a pet chilean rose for a while...and I have observed wild black tarantulas here in southern California. The males go wandering during mating season! Your photo displays how confusing spider breeding gets: how do the lovers avoid tangling all those legs up in knots? ;)

I agree!
The Chilean Rose was my first, and I think they are awesome!
I’d love to observe native Tarantulas one day. In Southern California, you mostly likely observed the Aphonopelma species.
Very cool!!!!

Ah, arachnids. I lost most of my fear while I was studying zoology. I don't kill spiders anymore (and encourage other people to let them live, too - as they are useful and little evolutionary miracles on eight legs) but I can't say I feel the need to cuddle them. To me, they are incredibly fascinating animals.

Yes!
They are amazing creatures. From growing and molting, to hunting and mating, truly fascinating!
I’m glad you enjoy them as well!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 23:32:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 122.20/200.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

good post, and you deserve the dream you want, and I follow you,
sorry, I'm new in steemit, will you help to improve my ranking? thank you

@lakeshorebrewery i am also really into tarantulas. I used to breed them and sell them at reptile shows as well in PA. I’ve sold all but one from my collection. The only one i have now is the first rose hair i ever got which i have had for close to 20 years.
Followed you and @customnature. Hope to see more spider related posts on steemit!

F1E8E531-92AB-4597-BF5C-1A273BB00F81.jpeg
Heres a shot from one of my shows.

I also have a youtube channel where i post lots of spider related content as well.
https://youtu.be/q8qO03Qepnw

Cheers,
Jsquirms

@jsquirms
Following you as well, thank you!
Very cool! That Stirmi is nice, and the that GBB looks itchy! Lol!
Judging from the name in your card, you are from the Philly area? I bet you do the Oaks show? We did Hamburg...I actually still go from time to time, as dart frogs are more my thing now, but I’m pretty sure I have a bunch more spider pics to show!
Looking forward to seeing more spiders from you as well!
Cheers!
Tim

Yeah, im in philly. Ive been to both the hamburg and oaks shows. I still go sometimes, but not to sell anymore. The dart frogs are really interesting but ive never had any. The stirmi was so itchyi broke out in hives anytime i had to do tank maintenance. It was awful.

I know the feeling!
The last group of T’s I sold off were my pokies. Loved those guys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73