I wonder if AI could revolutionize "pets" and our relationship with animals. 🤔

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

I want to start off by saying I don't have any moral conflict with dogs and cats.

They evolved in harmony with humans and this is their environment. A dog is happy in a house, living with people. And even dependant on it. They seem to kind of need us. And we love them, so it works.


But i.e. rabbits are different. They don't want to be in a cage, for you to look at. (Or even if you've arranged it where they can run around your apartment, whatever, same thing. A tiny bit better, but the point is this is not their environment and not satisfying to them and it's probably awful. Even if it's cute to you.)

So that's my feeling about pets.

Artificial Intelligence

I wonder if one day in the distant future, AI can train squirrels and rabbits to identify which humans they can safely trust.

And humans (to whatever extent they qualify and demonstrate trustiness) can opt in to the protocol, and then when you walk thru the woods, squirrels and rabbits can follow you.

Maybe they know they can run on you and jump on you. Maybe some people just want to be followed, and be able to see them and drop food.

So "aw, isn't my rabbit friend cute?" wouldn't have to do with caging them in some kind of awful existence. It would have to do with them being a normal rabbit, and they hang out with you on mutually beneficial terms.

🤔🤔🤔

I've talked about a "sliver of time" dynamic before, and this I think is one of them.

I understand the feeling of you want to be around the rabbits. If you love animals, it kind of feels like you "should" be able to. It's inescapable that being in your cage is bad for the rabbit, yet having no rabbit in your life doesn't seem perfect either.

I suggest that right now we live in the sliver of time where this is an issue. Where life is smooth and we're able to capture rabbits and send them off to PetCo and this is something people even consider and have as an option.

(A thousand years ago we had other things to worry about, and weren't that good at economizing rabbits.)

But we don't yet have a better or more complete way of connecting ourselves with them.

So now it's all about going a step further and even more advancement, and maybe there's a way to reconcile "I want cute bunny rabbits in my life" with "rabbits obv aren't happy in your cage or meant to live that way".

You heard it here first.

Sort:  

Haha another beautiful and thoughtful idea from the ever expanding @full-measure repository. I gotta say this is your coolest and cutest one yet. I fucking love it.

Not one time I’ve always wished animals could just know they can trust me; that I don’t mean to hurt them. Sometimes I’m trying to rescue an animal or take a cute pic and I just wish I could let them know Im not up to anything mischievous.

If AI would let a cute bunny pose for a cute shot from me (ermm, photographic shot of course) that would be mind blowing!! ermm...

You heard it here first.

Haha. ‘Nuff said.

<3

I figured you would like this!! Prob one of my favorite too.

Not one time I’ve always wished animals could just know they can trust me; that I don’t mean to hurt them. Sometimes I’m trying to rescue an animal or take a cute pic and I just wish I could let them know Im not up to anything mischievous.

Yaaaa I feel I feel I feel .. if only they knew!! It's so annoying. It feels like there SHOULD be a way for them to know lol, it's such an annoying tease that they don't.

And sometimes we scare them when we don't mean to, like aw damn I made the squirrel run up the tree, but he coulda kept digging or whatever he was up to if only he knew!

Haha. 'Nuff said.

😃👍

This sounds cool.
Not only would humans be able to choose cute pets, animals will also get the chance to those 'cute' owners

Im not talking about physical appearance but who knows what goes on in those rabbits' minds

I'm out

yaaaa, exactly! whatever the rabbit way of seeing us is.. if we're "cute" or they just feel some energy or who knows what they base it on, def maybe the kind of food you carry, the rabbits can be around the people they like.

maybe they'd get something out of it too for all we know


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

😮😮 thanks @c-squared !

Hi @full-measure!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.419 which ranks you at #2135 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 2128).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #217.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66