Animal Lover - Rescuing kittens again!

in #animals6 years ago

todos.jpg

I was a very busy at work discussing some things with my coworkers at the front desk, it was 11AM and very hot in this tropical island that day. Suddenly a local guy came in with a small box and told me: ”Hi, do you remember you told me if I find abandoned kittens in the streets to look for you?”… I did not remember but I knew I probably said that, so I took the box and he left.

When I opened the box, I saw these new 5 little kittens that made me forget about that busy moment at work. I kept them with me waiting for my lunch break which I knew it was going to be an errands break: go find formula milk, news papers, and everything we needed for them.

What was inside the box:

box.jpg

It was not a surprise for me that I could not find any formula for the kittens on this island, so I had to make some phone calls to have someone buy it for me from another city. I bought for that first day rice cereal powder to mix it up with water.

My wife and I were going to leave to Colombia for vacation in about 3 weeks. Wow! We had 3 weeks to save these kittens, take care of them and also find them a new home! What a task!

I took the kittens to one of the local vets first. She told me they were very small and that I had to feed them every 4 hours, so yes! We had to wake up for several days during the night to go feed them and clean them.

Luckily, we already had an experience like that with another 5 kittens I found abandoned in a local park, I also wrote a post about it Animal Lover // Kittens left in the TRASH to die...

This time was a bit harder because the kittens had a lot of parasites and 3 of them were sick coughing. But with responsable care and visits to the vet we manage to take care of them properly.

Here are some pictures of them while we were taking care of them:

Panda2.jpg

Forkie %2F Yani.jpg

Napolitana 1.jpg

Tron 1.jpg

all kittens to sleep.jpg


What to do when you find newborn kittens?

First of all you have to make sure to collect the following items:

  • Formula for kittens, if you can’t find you can use human powder milk until you get the proper one. Never use cow milk because kittens can’t tolerate it.
  • Baby bottle for animals.
  • Boxes
  • Paper towel
  • Towels
  • Warm fabric
  • Cat litter
  • Toys, why not.

How to feed them?
It is very easy, first you want to make sure that the formula milk once prepared is not too hot nor too cold, just slightly warm, and make sure the powder is totally mixed with the water.

Make sure to feed them every 4 hours, if they are asleep, let them sleep, as soon as they wake up you feed them.

When you take the kittens, you will have to grab them from the neck carefully and put the bottle in their mouth, they will learn how to suck it, but be careful, you don't want them to choke themself with the liquid so pay attention, they are very fragile. Don’t ever squeeze to much liquid into their mouth or it might get into their lungs.

bottle.png

Always clean the bottle after using it, if you still have some milk left you can put it in your fridge.

Now that they all ate, it’s time to help them pee and poo:
Wait a little bit after feeding them, in the meantime look for a comfortable place, like a table for example, use your newspapers, grab your humid paper towel.

You will have to help them stimulate them with massages using your fingers, not too rough, massage their bellies until they eliminate. Normally the mom will lick their tummies, so just imagine your fingers are the tongue of mama cat, this will stimulate their organs to do their necessities. This is crucial, since kittens that young cannot eliminate on their own yet.

With the humid paper towel, touch their parts softly, this will make them pee. Be careful, you don't want to irritate them.

If they dont poo it’s ok, it was not their time to do so, but as soon as you see any poo showing themselves from their little buttholes, then you have to keep stimulating them with the massages until it comes out.

pee.png

When you are done with all these procedures, put them back in the box, you want to cover the floor of the box with newspapers as well, but also and very important, make sure to use a warm fabric so they can all cuttle and not feel cold, close a bit the box as well. Kittens that young cannot yet regulate their own body temperature and need to be kept warm.

This is an everyday procedure that could last weeks depending on how big you found the kittens. You will notice through time when is a good moment for them to stop the use of the bottle and start drinking water by themselves as well as eating kitten food. Usually they are about to be ready for this when you feel their teeth grow and when they start biting on the bottle


Finally, our little rescued kittens got well after some Vet Clinic visits. They stopped having parasites and started to eat, drink and go to the cat litter without help.

Now it was time to look for adoption homes, which is probably the most difficult task specially living in a small island.

Thankfully, after a few facebook posts and phone calls, we manage to find home for all of them. Even on our last day here before our vacation trip.

We were a little bit sad to give them away, but we knew we had to. I remember asking one of the adopters to send me a picture of one of them (Napolitana) just to make sure she was fine:

As you can see, she ended up very well protected with her new older brother:

Napolitana 2.jpg

More than a month have passed so I contacted all the new adopters to ask about them and to send me some pictures.

I put together all the pictures I was able to get for you to see how they grew in their new homes, they are all healthy and happy:

Panda.jpg

Napolitana.jpg

TRON.jpg

Sentinela.jpg


The main reason why I like to write about rescued animals is because I am looking to inspire you to do the same when you have an opportunity, even if you can't do it by yourself you could always seek for help.I’m lucky to have a wife that is a natural when it comes to feeding kittens and giving them medicines, but it’s also something anyone can learn.

Thank you very much for reading and I hope you enjoyed this new story!

THANK YOU!

cr crypto.png

Sort:  

Wow, that was very patient of you and your wife to be taking care of those cute creatures. I know they are very sensitive because they are still very small. It really takes a lot of patience to take care of them. Plus your patience to look for adopters. Other people may just ignore the kittens along the road.

And seeing one of them with a dog is cuter. 😊

thanks @macoolette for your words. Yes, we were very patient, specially when I had to clean after them peeing and pooing lol that was my task.

Well, I can imagine the patience. Those kittens are indeed very lucky to have landed on you. Good job!

Hello i think this post is so inspiring.if i was the one who found those tiny little kitten i wouldnt know what to do. I really like how you explain how to take care of them.You have done anabsolutely amazingjob and it is awsome to see all the cats in their new families:)

it is very fulfilling as well to read that someone can learn from what I wrote, now you know. If you ever encounter same situation, remember this post, and let us know you did the same.
Cheers!

I definitly will:)

That's quite an interesting read! It was so nice of you to take them in and treat them, you did put in your all to make them feel better and cared for. I believe it was a fulfilling experience

You definitely did a great job finding them a new place, they all look happy and comfortable in their new homes. They all look really cute, especially the one that is "lazying" around, sleeping...

I was just telling @evecab about how fulfilling it was, is not easy to explain in words. Thank you.

I totally get that! Some feelings/experiences can't be easily expressed with words..

Wow !!!! They are cute although at first it really didn't see dem clearly.
Nice to see that someone cares about abandoned animals giving them a better home.

Keep it up. Success finding them good homes

lol yeah, we didnt think they were going to be beautiful once they grow, but they do =)

Awww blessed you and @evecab for doing this
There are two kind of people, those who care and those who don't
really proud of you
all the best for the wee ones!

thank you girly girl, big hug to you from Panama.

esta mañana mismo han cogido una gatica del barrio para la protectora, y tenemos otra que se nos cuela en el jardín porque le doy de comer y se la lleva a los bebes, tiene dos, :/ para lo único que compro sardinas enlatadas,

Evidence suggests domesticated cats have been around since 3600 B.C., 2,000 years before Egypt's pharaohs.
a cat fact

Nicely done saving the poor kittens and giving them a better life. I'm sure it couldn't have been easy raising them at such a young and delicate age.

We have a huge problem where i'm from with abandoned animals. Luckily there is a great shelter nearby to me that does as much as they can. I try to give what time and money that i can but i know that they are always under pressure to keep up with the amount of animals that they need to care for.

Soon when i have a steadier work load i would like to foster for them as they are always in need of people to take care of the animals and I've always had a love for them myself. Like yourself obviously.

Excellent man, do it! whats the name of that shelter? do they have website?

I will soon. I would love to adopt an animal full time but I don't think my lifestyle and job would let me do it properly. I'm hoping if I foster a few first then I can see how to work it as well as help the shelter out. It's the gspca in ireland.

Posted using Partiko Android

  • @el-cr Interesting publication friend. Excellent methods for when they are very young. How to help them grow up healthy. I really liked the explanation of how to help them physiologically do their needs when they are so young and don't know how to do it. They all grew up very healthy. Excellent work you're doing.

  • Everyone has a beautiful home and people who love them very much and care for them. All the pictures are super beautiful and adorable. Thank you for your publication and for taking care of the animals rescued with so much love. A big hello.

Gracias por tus palabras, @yenisfer si tengo que volver hacerlo, lo haré =)
¿De qué país eres?

Friend I live in Venezuela but I was born in Cuba. A big hello.

Hi el-cr,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @el-cr! This is just to let you know that...

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 27th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

It's not a huge upvote... and will probably be eclipsed by curie's trail, but just to show that we care and love those kittens too!

wow I got snekked !!! sure go ahead and proceed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36